The Escape by Hannah JayneThe Escape by Hannah Jayne

The Escape

byHannah Jayne

Paperback | June 16, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.99

Earn 70 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out? .It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for Fletcher and Adam to kill time one boring afternoon. But when day turns into night and neither boy returns home, their town is thrown into turmoil. Search teams comb the forest. Then Avery, the police chief's daughter, stumbles on a body. It's Fletcher-disoriented, beaten, and covered in blood. He has no memory of the incident, and worse yet, he has no idea what happened to the still-missing Adam? .As danger and suspicion grow, one thing becomes very clear: No one can escape the truth.Praise for Hannah Jayne's The Dare:A page-turner in the spirit of Lois Duncan's classic I Know What You Did Last Summer; it will undoubtedly please the thriller-loving crowd." -Kirkus"Well-rounded characters spark with life in this chiller." -Booklist"Reminiscent of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars series, The Dare is a novel that truly makes one think about their own actions- and the possible consequences." -Teen Reads"

About The Author

Hannah Schwartz lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and writes cozy mysteries, young adult fiction, chick lit, and grocery lists that she never seems to remember to bring to the grocery store. Hannah shares a house with two neurotic, feet-attacking cats and has Kryptonite-like weakness for donuts. Visit www.hannahjschwartz.com.
The Revenge
The Revenge

by Hannah Jayne

$13.74$15.50

In stock online

Available in stores

See Jane Run
See Jane Run

by Hannah Jayne

$12.72$13.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Truly, Madly, Deadly: An Edge-of-your-seat Thriller
Truly, Madly, Deadly: An Edge-of-your-seat Thriller

by Hannah Jayne

$13.12$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The EscapeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pages, 8.25 × 5.68 × 0.69 inPublished:June 16, 2015Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492616540

ISBN - 13:9781492616542

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Escape

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from For me, this is a 3 star read! This is the first book I have read by Hannah Jayne and I was fairly impressed. I read a lot of mystery novels and I think I am at the point where I need to stop reading them for a while. The storylines are all starting to sound very similar and robotic. This book is written in third person and has alternating points of view from Aver and Fletcher. In my opinion, Avery seemed very realistic. She appeared to by a typical teenager with insecurities and problems. Although, she wasn't that close with Fletcher in the beginning, as the story progresses, you being to see there friendship develop. Being the daughter of the chief of police, can make life difficult for a teenage girl. When Adam, the popular boy, goes missing everyone wants to talk to Avery to see what she knows. The whole town wants to figure out what happened to Fletcher and who killed Adam. Fletcher has lost his memory and can't remember what happened the day they walked into the woods. I felt as though there wasn't enough back story as to what was actually happening. The book opens with Adam and Fletcher already in the woods and gone missing. I would have liked the story to open with them together before it got right into the missing person case. Overall, I felt that the book was a good read; however, I would have liked slightly more depth and description of some of the scenes as well as the characters. For me, this is a 3 star read!
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For Fans of YA Thrillers When Adam Marshall and Fletcher Carroll never return from their afternoon hike in the woods, the town of Dan River Falls immediately sends out teams of volunteers to search through the forest for the missing teen boys. Only Fletcher is found alive, severely beaten, disorientated, and traumatized, unable to recall what happened to himself and Adam, no matter how hard he tries to remember. Their small town has never faced such a terrible tragedy. As the police hunt for a dangerous murderer, the progress of their investigation is hindered when there are few leads to help them. A curfew is soon put into effect to protect residents, but tensions are running high and rumours of what happened in the woods are running rampant. Adam was the town's golden boy, popular and a jock, the complete opposite of Fletcher, an outcast always on the periphery of social circles at school. Nobody really understood their friendship, and when the miracle of finding Fletcher alive begins to fade away, suspicion grows instead. As Fletcher's wounds begin to heal, he can't help feeling a deep sense of survivor's guilt. Even more disheartening? What many of his classmates are thinking, but not saying to his face, is that Adam should've been found alive, not Fletcher. Avery Templeton, daughter of the local police chief, is driven with need to understand what really happened in the woods. Ever since the fateful moment she found a bloody and bruised Fletcher collapsed in the dirt, she can't shake the paranoia and fear that the violence is not over yet. Forging a friendship with lonely Fletcher, Avery is determined to help him unlock his memories and get answers, even though her father warns her to keep her distance from his case. Avery's impulsiveness wasn't exactly endearing; it did annoy me a few times. As she did her own little investigation, she'd quickly jump to her own conclusions without really thinking things through, so convinced that she had to be right. Avery was not immune to casting blame before there was absolute evidence to support her claims, so it made me wary to trust her opinions. Unreliable narration can really help to heighten suspense, but I don't think Avery's perspective was written as strongly as Fletcher's. (Or maybe I just didn't really agree with some of the choices she made? Choices that were not smart and/or left her vulnerable.) Hannah Jayne's The Escape is an underrated YA thriller that's perfect to read on a dark, stormy night to really capture its creepy and mysterious tone. You might just be a little more wary of venturing into the woods in the future. Trust your instincts. You may or may not be able to foreshadow the twist of an ending Hannah Jayne has in store for readers. My heart was crazily pounding as I turned the final pages! I just wish the ending wasn't so abrupt because I was still left with lingering questions...
Date published: 2015-08-13