The Far End Of Happy: Heartbreaking And Suspenseful Contemporary Fiction by Kathryn CraftThe Far End Of Happy: Heartbreaking And Suspenseful Contemporary Fiction by Kathryn Craft

The Far End Of Happy: Heartbreaking And Suspenseful Contemporary Fiction

byKathryn Craft

Paperback | May 5, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.74 online 
$20.99 list price save 15%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Twelve tense hours, three women, and the suicide standoff that turns one family's little piece of heaven into a scene from hellRonnie Farnham's husband is supposed to move out today. But when Jeff pulls into the driveway drunk, with a shotgun in the front seat, she realizes nothing about the day will go as planned.The next few hours spiral down in a flash, unlike the slow disintegration of their marriage-and whatever part of that painful unraveling is Ronnie's fault, not much else matters now but these moments. Her family's lives depend on the choices she will make-but is what's best for her best for everyone?Based on a real event from the author's life, The Far End of Happy is a chilling contemporary novel. Fans of Mary Kubica, Diane Chamberlin, and Rosalind Noonan will be on the edge of their seats during this story of one troubled man, the family that loves him, and the suicide standoff that will change them all forever. What reviewers are saying about The Far End of HappyThis novel is the very definition of a page-turner as it follows a twelve hour stand-off between a man threatening suicide and the police."-Huffington Post"This title is based on the author's experience with a standoff involving her husband, which adds real, raw, emotion to the plot. Framing the novel within a 12-hour period keeps the pages turning"-Library Journal"? a heartbreaking story packed with tension and brimming with humanity."-Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 international bestselling author of The Life List"A compelling read, an unflinching exploration of one of life's most inexplicable horrors."-New York Journal of Books"Kathryn Craft keeps the tension edge-of-your-seat suspenseful in The Far End of Happy? "- Kate Moretti, author of the New York Times bestselling Thought I Knew You, and Binds That Tie"A complex and gripping story ofbroken hearts, lives, and marriages that will tear you apart from beginning to end."-Steena Holmes, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Memory Child and Finding Emma"An incredibly honest and courageous exploration of a marriage torn apart by neglect and threats of suicide."-Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl"
Kathryn Craft has been a leader in the southeastern Pennsylvania writing scene for more than a decade and is the author of The Art of Falling. She lives in Doylestown, Pennsylvania with her husband.
Loading
Title:The Far End Of Happy: Heartbreaking And Suspenseful Contemporary FictionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.99 inPublished:May 5, 2015Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:149260495X

ISBN - 13:9781492604952

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raw, Honest and Heartbreaking This book is one of the most beautifully written stories of one of the most heartbreaking and horrific events a family could endure. I had read about this book on a magazine must read list somewhere, and the plot had only vaguely caught my attention, it was more the fact that it sounded like a unique twist on a suspense, and those are books I loved. So I hunted down a copy and dove right in. It should be the first thing for any reader to know that this is not an easy read - this is a desperate, painful, heartbreaking book that deals with a truly horrific life event. That being said, I could not recommend this enough. It should also be said, very upfront, that this book is 100% about suicide, and if that is a trigger for you, please, please proceed with caution. This book is done in the most tasteful, quiet and reserved way possible but it does not shy away from the reality of suicide. Synopsis - Ronnie's husband Jeff was supposed to move out of their house today, as they work towards a divorce that has been a long time coming. Instead, Jeff pulls into their driveway, wasted and with a shotgun in the front seat. The day spirals away as Jeff launches into a stand off with police and Ronnie reflects on how their lives landed them here. Kathyrn Craft wrote this book based on real events from her own life, in which her first husband ended up in a suicide standoff with police. The reality of her experience is reflected unflinchingly in these pages, in away that will absolutely break your heart one hundred different ways. Kathryn has done something truly amazing with this story, reflecting the views of Ronnie, her mother and her mother in law, as they spend the course of a day waiting for an inevitable outcome they can only pray to avoid. This story is raw, honest and true right to the core of the characters. As a person who has experienced losing a loved one to suicide, this story took hold of the core of my heart, as it resonated so truly with my own experience, which was far removed from Ronnie's story. In a way I did not know possible, Kathryn created a story of hope from within a story of despair. I sobbed my way through this book. And I look forward to the day I pick it up again.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COULD NOT PUT DOWN This book was so well written and thought out it was hard to put down. A must read for suspense lovers.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good book It's a really sad and scary story, great read - touched me having an alcoholic ex myself who also threatened suicide.
Date published: 2017-06-23