The Fiend's Delight (novella + short stories + poetry) by Ambrose Bierce

The Fiend's Delight (novella + short stories + poetry)

byAmbrose Bierce

Kobo ebook | August 21, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


This carefully crafted ebook: "The Fiend’s Delight (novella + short stories + poetry)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.
The Fiend's Delight, a compilation of Bierce's articles; essays, stories, poems and reflection, was published in London in 1873 by John Camden Hotten under the pseudonym "Dod Grile". This was Bierce’s first book when he lived and wrote in England from 1872 to 1875, contributing to Fun magazine.
Ambrose Bierce (born June 24, 1842; assumed to have died sometime after December 26, 1913) was an American editorialist, journalist, short story writer, fabulist, and satirist. He wrote the short story "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge" and compiled a satirical lexicon The Devil's Dictionary. His vehemence as a critic, his motto "Nothing matters", and the sardonic view of human nature that informed his work, all earned him the nickname "Bitter Bierce".
Despite his reputation as a searing critic, Bierce was known to encourage younger writers, including poet George Sterling and fiction writer W. C. Morrow. Bierce employed a distinctive style of writing, especially in his stories. His style often embraces an abrupt beginning, dark imagery, vague references to time, limited descriptions, impossible events and the theme of war.

Some Fiction.

  1. “One More Unfortunate.”
  2. The Strong Young Man of Colusa.
  3. The Glad New Year.
  4. The Late Dowling, Senior.
  5. “Love’s Labour Lost.”
  6. A Comforter.
  7. Little Isaac.
  8. The Heels of Her.
  9. A Tale of Two Feet.
  10. The Scolliver Pig.
  11. Mr. Hunker’s Mourner.
  12. A Bit of Chivalry.
  13. The Head of the Family.
  14. Deathbed Repentance.
  15. The New Church that was not Built.
  16. A Tale of the Great Quake.
  17. Johnny.
  18. The Child’s Provider.
  19. Boys who Began Wrong.
  20. A Kansas Incident.
  21. Mr. Grile’s Girl.
  22. His Railway.
  23. Mr. Gish Makes a Present.
  24. A Cow–County Pleasantry.
  25. The Optimist, and What He Died Of.
  26. The Root of Education.
  27. Retribution.
  28. Margaret the Childless.
  29. The Discomfited Demon.
Title:The Fiend's Delight (novella + short stories + poetry)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:August 21, 2013Publisher:e-artnowLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:8074842908

ISBN - 13:9788074842900