The Fire Witness

Hardcover | July 9, 2013

byLars Kepler

not yet rated|write a review
Psychologically tense and as fast-paced as The Hypnotist, the third book in the Joona Linna series by Lars Kepler is already a worldwide sensation, appealing to fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

Detective Inspector Joona Linna, under internal review by the National Police for an alleged infraction, is on leave to solve some troubling personal business when he is called in to "observe" the investigation of a gruesome and strange murder at Birgittagarden, a youth home for wayward teenage girls. But it''s not long before Linna is drawn deeply into the intricate, disturbing case. Intriguing, astonishing, and with all of the suspense that first captured audiences in The Hypnotist, The Fire Witness is Lars Kepler at his most psychologically complex and thrilling.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$28.77 online
$29.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Psychologically tense and as fast-paced as The Hypnotist, the third book in the Joona Linna series by Lars Kepler is already a worldwide sensation, appealing to fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Detective Inspector Joona Linna, under internal review by the National Police for an alleged infraction, is on leave to solve some troubling personal business when he is called in to "observe" the invest...

Lars Kepler is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically-acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril's first novel Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars) has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril's novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. The Fire Witness is the third book in a seri...

other books by Lars Kepler

Stalker
Stalker

Paperback|May 10 2016

$18.16 online$24.95list price(save 27%)
The Sandman
The Sandman

Paperback|Jun 30 2015

$12.06 online$17.95list price(save 32%)
The Nightmare
The Nightmare

Paperback|Jan 29 2013

$11.09 online$19.95list price(save 44%)
see all books by Lars Kepler
Format:HardcoverDimensions:512 pages, 9.46 × 6.29 × 1.63 inPublished:July 9, 2013Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0771095686

ISBN - 13:9780771095689

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the first. I read The Hypnotist and was glued to it. I just had to continue the series and so glad I did. The second book is just as good as the first. Can't wait to start the third (Fire Witness).
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting action This book is unlike any of the translated Scandinavan authors. Its action packed, cleverly twisted, and leaves you hungry for the next story.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riveting action Starts off a little bit slow and pedantic but builds to an interesting finish. The Joona sidebar is a bit cryptic throughout but will leave you craving more and closure which is, I guess, the hallmark of a good series
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting action Lars is amazing....these are some very well written books and they keep you on your toes!!!!
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fire witness Lars Kepler never fails with this very suspenseful, edge of your seat psychological thriller. I have loved all 3 of his books and can't wait for the next one. A definite must read book!
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fire Witness Nice twists and good story. Can't wait for the next one!
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fire Witness Excellent! Can't wait for their next book!
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciously creepy I discovered the Swedish husband and wife writing team of Lars Kepler with the first book in their Inspector Joona Linna series - The Hypnotist. I loved it and it only got better with the second book - The Nightmare. I've been eagerly awaiting the North American release of the third book - The Fire Witness. And up front, I have to tell you it was a five star read for me. Inspector Joona Linna is on suspension, pending the outcome of an internal affairs investigation. Linna doesn't play by the rules, he goes for results by whatever means he sees fit. "It is a serious charge, but this is not the first time Joona has run up against the authorities. It seems to be his nature....But what they can't ignore is that in the almost fifteen years Joona's been on the job, he's solved more challenging cases than any other Scandinavian officer." And the cases Kepler come up with for Linna are challenging - not just for him but for the reader as well. I read a lot of crime fiction and this series keeps me guessing right 'til the end. In the Fire Witness, Linna is called to 'observe' a particularly nasty case. A young girl has been found brutally murdered in her group home. Her body has been arranged with her hands covering her eyes. None of the other girls saw anyone or anything. Or did they? These are girls with a myriad of problems and getting a straight answer out of them seems impossible. And of course Joona can't stand by and just be an observer - he sees much more at crime scenes than his colleagues - clues and connections that others don't. The case begins there and Kepler builds layer upon layer into the case, including a would be psychic who may actually be the real thing. (Gentle readers be warned - Kepler pulls no punches with descriptions) I've used the word creepy before to describe Kepler's books and I would use it to again to describe The Fire Witness. The settings, the plot, the characters and their actions are all unsettling, keeping readers on their toes. The secondary plot line deals with Joona Linna's past. It has been alluded to in the past two books and at last we get to know what has happened to him. Not what I expected or imagined at all. (again, I love that I can't predict where Kepler is going to go next) The ending - oh, what an ending. I will be waiting on the edge of my seat for the North American release of the fourth book -The Sandman. Definitely recommended. Kepler just gets better and better. Fans of Jo Nesbo and Jussi Adler-Olsen would enjoy this series
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lars Kepler has done it again! Loved it but wished they explored the murders past crimes too! Excited to learn what's in store for Joona next
Date published: 2013-07-17