The Foolish Virgin by Margaret PennThe Foolish Virgin by Margaret Penn

The Foolish Virgin

byMargaret Penn

Paperback | April 30, 1981

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 232 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The Foolish Virgin is a biographical sequel to Manchester Fourteen Miles, in which Margaret Penn describes her childhood in a Lancashire labourer's family at the turn of the century. The sequel begins where the earlier book leaves off with Hilda Winstanley (alias Margaret Penn) arriving in London to live with her real father's family. It is a moving and humorous account of a young girl's reaction to being taken from a highly traditional rural working-class family and plunged into the sophisticated and active life of a middle-class professional family. By the end of the book Hilda Winstanley is a complete member of a higher class; literate, cultured, politically aware as a liberal and suffragist and prepared to earn her living as a secretary. The three volumes were popular with reviewers and readers in the late 1940s but then fell out of print. They now hold new appeal, as an important record of a fascinating period of social history, as well as a moving and evocative account of one woman's life. Cambridge University Press is delighted to make them available for a new generation to enjoy.
D(avid) H(erbert) Lawrence was born on September 11, 1885. His father was a coal miner and Lawrence grew up in a mining town in England. He always hated the mines, however, and frequently used them in his writing to represent both darkness and industrialism, which he despised because he felt it was scarring the English countryside. Law...
Title:The Foolish VirginFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0.59 inPublished:April 30, 1981Publisher:Cambridge University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521282977

ISBN - 13:9780521282970

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1. The nation of London; 2. Sunday: new style; 3. Aunt Helen and Aunt Mildred; 4. The first battle; 5. The Flowre of cities all; 6. Springtime; 7. Processes of education; 8. Hilda alone; 9. Mr Rumsey's establishment; 10. Mr Ram Lal; 11. The cause; 12. Earning once more; 13. Return to Moss Ferry; 14. Old aquaintance; 15. Onslaught of the hosts of Midian; 16. A young girl out in the world; 17. Encounter with a real author; 18. The year 1914; 19. The plains of heaven; 20. Paradise deferred.