The Forest Of Stars

byHeather KassnerIllustratorIz Ptica

August 4, 2020|
The Forest Of Stars by Heather Kassner
$20.34 
$22.99 save 11%
Hardcover
Earn 102 plum® points
1% of net proceeds from this book helps children in high-needs communities through the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

In this mysterious and mesmerizing fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Splendor and Glooms and Circus Mirandus, a windswept girl who can float among the stars searches for her long-lost father at a shadow-filled carnival.

"Kassner''s writing dazzles . . . a tale of hope, courage, and friendship." -Newbery Honor winner Ingrid Law

Left all alone after her mother passes away, twelve-year-old Louisa LaRoche watches the sky for her father. Long ago, a powerful gust of wind swept through town, stealing him away on the wings of his untamed magic-the same magic that stirs within Louisa. As if she is made of hollow bones and too much air, her feet never quite touch the ground.

But for all her sky gazing, Louisa finds her fortune on the leaf-strewn street when she spots a gleaming black-and-gold invitation-a ticket to the Carnival Beneath the Stars. If her father fits in nowhere else, maybe she''ll find him there, dazzling crowds alongside the other strange and wonderful feats. Only, soon after she arrives, a tightrope act ends disastrously-and suspiciously. As fate tugs Louisa closer to the stars, she must decide if she''s willing to slip into the injured performer''s role, despite the darkness plucking at the carnival''s magical threads.

In The Forest of Stars, Heather Kassner weaves a spectacle of wondrous magic, unexpected friendship, and dark secrets.

Featuring illustrations by Iz Ptica.

* "Irresistible." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Like the carnival at its heart, this story is richly magical and delightfully eerie." -Cassie Beasley, New York Times bestselling author of Circus Mirandus

Heather Kassner loves thunderstorms, hummingbirds, and books. She lives with her husband in Arizona, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the rain, photographing hummingbirds, and reading and writing strange little stories. She is also the author The Bone Garden. Follow her on Twitter!
Loading
Title:The Forest Of Stars
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:288 pages, 8.6 X 5.61 X 1.14 in
Shipping dimensions:288 pages, 8.6 X 5.61 X 1.14 in
Published:August 4, 2020
Publisher:Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781250297006

Recently Viewed
|