The Forgotten Dead by Tove AlsterdalThe Forgotten Dead by Tove Alsterdal

The Forgotten Dead

byTove Alsterdal

Paperback | August 1, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.80 online 
$11.99 list price
Earn 54 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

A dark thriller set in the underworld of Europe, perfect for fans of I AM PILGRIM.It's night in Tarifa, on the southern coast of Spain. A woman sneaks ashore from a fishing boat, having miraculously escaped the waves after a nightmare ride over the channel. On the beach she founds a pair of gold shoes. She puts them on and disappears into the city.At dawn, on the same beach, Terese Wallner a twenty year old hungover girl wakes up all alone. She's on vacation in Spain and her one-time lover has left her. Her shoes are gone and so is the passport she had in her purse. She lurches down to the water and stumbles over the dead body of a man. He is later reported to be an illegal immigrant.In New York, Alena Cornwall is trying to get hold of her husband, Patrick, a well-known freelance journalist, who is in Paris writing about human trafficking and slavery. Concerned for his safety, Ally faces her fear of enclosed spaces and boards a plane across the Atlantic to find him. This takes her on a journey through the dark heart of Europe, and into a confrontation with her own past.
Tove Alsterdal is an established and well respected Swedish journalist, novel dramaturge and script writer. For the last 25 years she has written for theatre as well as paper media, television, radio, and film. She is also known as the editor of Liza Marklund's best selling crime novels.In 2009 Tove Alsterdal made a success with her de...
The Forgotten Dead
The Forgotten Dead

by Tove Alsterdal

$15.66$16.99

Pre-order online

Available in stores

Vrouwen op het strand
Vrouwen op het strand

by Tove Alsterdal

$12.81

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Forgotten DeadFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 7.01 × 4.37 × 0.68 inPublished:August 1, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:000817136X

ISBN - 13:9780008171360

Customer Reviews of The Forgotten Dead

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

'Without a doubt , she is one of our best crime writers right now. Or rather, in short, one of the best writers right now' Gunilla Wedding' Norra Skåne"Has all the characteristics of the Scandinavian crime novel - the suspense, the literary quality, the critical view on society - but with a global perspective. The Swedish critics are right: this is an international thriller of the highest standard." Liza Marklund"A complex topic is condensed into this book with great finesse. Nothing is missing and nothing can be added. The balance is perfect. This first novel by Tove Alsterdal is a total success and the translation of her second book is already eagerly awaited." Huffington Post/ Canada"A captivating debut!" Der Standard/Germany"Alsterdal is a gift to crime novel lovers." Søndag"If you are only going to read one Swedish crime novel this summer, read Women On The Beach by Tove Alsterdal." 6 stars out of 6, Berlingske Tidende/Denmark"A thrilling, insightful and very well written story." GöteborgspostenPraise for Tove Alsterdal:"Tove Alsterdal combines deeply poignant family stories with political thriller. The topics never get dull or didactive and she has an instinctive feeling when she writes about people, about love, guilt, loss and reconciliation. She writes with a light pen, and one travels through the story effortlessly. It is so worth every minute of the time it actually takes to read a book. She is the John le Carré of Sweden." Åsa Larsson