The Four Loves by C. S. Lewis

The Four Loves

byC. S. Lewis

Kobo ebook | December 9, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


C.S. Lewis’s famous inspirational work on the nature of love. ‘The Four Loves’ divides love into four categories: Affection, Friendship, Eros and Charity. The first three are loves which come naturally to the human race. Charity, however, the Gift-love of God, is divine in its source and expression, and without the sweetening grace of this supernatural love, the natural loves become distorted and even dangerous.

Title:The Four LovesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 9, 2010Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007332300

ISBN - 13:9780007332304


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affection, Friendship, Eros, and Charity The way C.S. Lewis' deconstruction of the four different loves is just really thought provoking. Admittingly, it was a slow and methodical read, but packs a punch to the 21st century reader. If you are C.S. Lewis fan I'd highly recommend this as the next book to pick up.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What is this thing.. C S Lewis unpacks the multiple meanings loaded into the word "love". This may sound like a coldly analytic exercise into a subject that touches the heart rather than the head - but it's not. Though it's been years since I first read this book, it remains in my memory for it's insight into a subject that has preoccupied human beings throughout history.
Date published: 2015-02-18