The Fragments of Sophocles by Richard Claverhouse JebbThe Fragments of Sophocles by Richard Claverhouse Jebb

The Fragments of Sophocles

EditorRichard Claverhouse Jebb, W. G. Headlam, A. C. Pearson

Paperback | April 1, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 259 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Sir Richard Jebb (1841-1905) was the most distinguished classicist of his generation, a Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, and University Orator, subsequently Professor of Greek at Glasgow University and finally Regius Professor of Greek at Cambridge, and a Member of Parliament for the University. At his death, his planned volumes of the fragments of Sophocles, which would complete his edition of the complete plays and fragments, were not ready for publication, and the final editing of these three volumes was undertaken by W. G. Headlam and A. C. Pearson; the books were published in 1917. The first volume contains a general introduction; Volumes 1 and 2 present the text of the fragments and a commentary, and the final volume consists of addenda and corrigenda, spurious fragments and two indices. The plays are presented in Greek alphabetical order: Volume 1 contains fragments of plays from 'Athamas' to 'Ichneutae'.
Title:The Fragments of SophoclesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:376 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0.83 inPublished:April 1, 2010Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1108009867

ISBN - 13:9781108009867


Table of Contents

Preface; General introduction; Fragments of named plays.