The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls by Lauren KarczThe Gallery Of Unfinished Girls by Lauren Karcz

The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls

byLauren Karcz

Hardcover | July 25, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.54 online 
$21.99 list price save 24%
Earn 83 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes’s creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn’t ever before. But Mercedes can’t take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can’t live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

“A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art.”—Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

Lauren Karcz is a linguist and project manager, as well as a one-time Jeopardy! contestant. She writes monthly at the collaborative blog Kick-Butt Kidlit. Lauren and her family live in Atlanta, Georgia. This is her first novel.
Loading
Title:The Gallery Of Unfinished GirlsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:July 25, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062467778

ISBN - 13:9780062467775

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sweet, Simple Story With Magical Realism The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a novel where nothing really happens. That's absolutely not a bad thing. It's a simple story with a twist of mystery and a dash of magical realism, an interesting main character and vivid side characters. Mercedes Moreno is a senior in high school, an artist, bisexual, and secretly in love with her dancer best friend, Victoria. At the start of the novel, Mercedes is living with her younger sister Angela in Sarasota, Florida while their mother holds vigil over their ill grandmother in Puerto Rico. A piano is left on their front lawn and their friendly landlord has rented out his spare room to a 19 year old artist, Lillia. Despite Mercedes' deep feelings for Victoria, there's very little romance in the story. It's about art more than anything, and what art means to its creator. As Mercedes is the protagonist, we follow along with her thoughts, her artistic creation, how painting is her self-expression, how she can pull things out of herself with paint that she didn't even know existed. I liked that a lot. I also liked how Mercedes' 14 year old sister Angela also has an artistic soul, a new piano player with a gift and a burning desire. It connected them in a way I found compelling and sweet. I thought Mercedes' bisexuality was nicely portrayed, as were her friendships with Lillia and Victoria. I guessed the little magical ~twist, but it just made me smile that I had guessed correctly. The Gallery of Unfinished Girls was just a sweet story about family, friendship and finding the right path for yourself.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow, Quirky, and Unique Although this book is much slower paced then I normally prefer, I enjoyed the symbolism and overall plot. I found it reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland, in that "is this real or her imagination?" kind of way.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh I found this really boring. I love the cover, it's gorgeous. But you know what they say about covers...
Date published: 2017-08-10

Editorial Reviews

“bold debut”