The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls by Lauren KarczThe Gallery Of Unfinished Girls by Lauren Karcz

The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls

byLauren Karcz

Hardcover | July 25, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.19 online 
$21.99 list price save 40%
Earn 66 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes’s creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn’t ever before. But Mercedes can’t take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can’t live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

“A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art.”—Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

Lauren Karcz is a linguist and project manager, as well as a one-time Jeopardy! contestant. She writes monthly at the collaborative blog Kick-Butt Kidlit. Lauren and her family live in Atlanta, Georgia. This is her first novel.
Quicklet on The Best Simon and Garfunkel Songs: Lyrics and Analysis
Quicklet on The Best Simon and Garfunkel Songs: Lyrics and Analysis

by Lauren Karcz

$3.98

Available for download

Not available in stores

Title:The Gallery Of Unfinished GirlsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:July 25, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062467778

ISBN - 13:9780062467775

Customer Reviews of The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfinished Girls This book has a different treatment of an old topic. Not my style of book.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh I found this really boring. I love the cover, it's gorgeous. But you know what they say about covers...
Date published: 2017-08-10

Editorial Reviews

“bold debut”