The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls

Hardcover | July 25, 2017

byLauren Karcz

not yet rated|write a review

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes’s creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn’t ever before. But Mercedes can’t take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can’t live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

“A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art.”—Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online
$21.99 list price (save 11%)
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lac...

Lauren Karcz is a linguist and project manager, as well as a one-time Jeopardy! contestant. She writes monthly at the collaborative blog Kick-Butt Kidlit. Lauren and her family live in Atlanta, Georgia. This is her first novel.

other books by Lauren Karcz

Quicklet on The Best Simon and Garfunkel Songs: Lyrics and Analysis
Quicklet on The Best Simon and Garfunkel Songs: Lyrics ...

Kobo ebook|Jul 26 2012

$3.09 online$3.92list price(save 21%)
Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:July 25, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062467778

ISBN - 13:9780062467775

Customer Reviews of The Gallery Of Unfinished Girls

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A dreamy and subtle work of art, THE GALLERY OF UNFINISHED GIRLS explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art.”