The Genius Of Jane Austen: Her Love Of Theatre And Why She Works In Hollywood by Paula ByrneThe Genius Of Jane Austen: Her Love Of Theatre And Why She Works In Hollywood by Paula Byrne

The Genius Of Jane Austen: Her Love Of Theatre And Why She Works In Hollywood

byPaula Byrne

Paperback | June 27, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.90 online 
$21.00 list price save 10%
Earn 95 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors.

Originally published by Bloomsbury Academic in 2003 as Jane Austen and the Theatre, Paula Byrne's first book was never made widely available in the US and is out of print today. An exploration of Austen's passion for the stage—she acted in amateur productions, frequently attended the theatre, and even scripted several early works in play form—it took a nuanced look at how powerfully her stories were influenced by theatrical comedy.

This updated edition features an introduction and a brand new chapter that delves into the long and lucrative history of Austen adaptations. The film world's love affair with Austen spans decades, from A.A. Milne's "Elizabeth Bennet," performed over the radio in 1944 to raise morale, to this year's Love and Friendship. Austen's work has proven so abidingly popular that these movies are more easily identifiable by lead actor than by title: the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility, the Carey Mulligan Northanger Abbey, the Laurence Olivier Pride and Prejudice. Byrne even takes a captivating detour into a multitude of successful spin-offs, including the phenomenally brilliant Clueless. And along the way, she overturns the notion of Jane Austen as a genteel, prim country mouse, demonstrating that Jane's enduring popularity in film, TV, and theater points to a woman of wild comedy and outrageous behavior.

For lovers of everything Jane Austen, as well as for a new generation discovering her for the first time, The Genius of Jane Austen demonstrates why this beloved author still resonates with readers and movie audiences today.


 

 

 

 

 

Paula Byrne is the critically acclaimed author of six biographies, including Kick: The True Story of JFK’S Sister and the Heir to Chatsworth, Belle: The Slave Daughter and the Lord Chief Justice, The Real Jane Austen, and Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead. She is married to the academic and biographer Jonathan Bate ...
Loading
Title:The Genius Of Jane Austen: Her Love Of Theatre And Why She Works In HollywoodFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.81 inPublished:June 27, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062674498

ISBN - 13:9780062674494

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Paula Byrne’s THE GENIUS OF JANE AUSTEN gives us the most insightful analysis of the making of the Austen legacy. Byrne’s investigation into Austen’s enjoyment of plays…gives us real insight into how Austen learned to focus her material, make it amusing and give it critical punch…Byrne demonstrates her own ample knowledge of the history of the English theater. The illustrations she has included are colorful and instructive…Thanks to Paula Byrne, I now readily see that the amusement Austen is giving me (and herself) was inspired by plays Austen knew well and techniques she saw on the stage.”