The Girl Detective Mystery Novels by Anna Katherine Green

The Girl Detective Mystery Novels

byAnna Katherine Green

Kobo ebook | August 22, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


This book includes an active table of contents so you can easily navigate to each book.

An American poet and novelist. She was one of the first writers of detective fiction in America and distinguished herself by writing well plotted, legally accurate stories. Green has been called "the mother of the detective novel."

The Leavenworth Case (1878), praised by Wilkie Collins, and the hit of the year. She became a bestselling author, eventually publishing about 40 books.

One of the first writers of detective fiction in America, distinguished by well plotted, legally accurate stories.

She is credited with shaping detective fiction into its classic form, and developing the series detective. Her main character was detective Ebenezer Gryce of the New York Metropolitan Police Force, but in three novels he is assisted by the nosy society spinster Amelia Butterworth, the prototype for Miss Marple, Miss Silver and other creations. She also invented the 'girl detective': in the character of Violet Strange, a debutante with a secret life as a sleuth.

Table of Contents
The Leavenworth Case
A Strange Disappearance
The Golden Slipper
The Mystery of the Hasty Arrow
The Mayor's Wife
The Circular Study
The Bronze Hand
Initials Only
That Affair Next Door
X Y Z, A Detective Story
The Amethyst Box
Lost Man's Lane

Title:The Girl Detective Mystery NovelsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:August 22, 2014Publisher:AGEB PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: