The Grand Slam: Bobby Jones, America, And The Story Of Golf

byMark Frost

Paperback | September 1, 2005

The Grand Slam: Bobby Jones, America, And The Story Of Golf by Mark Frost
$27.99
Earn 140 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $35

Not available in stores

about

Now in paperback, the Los Angeles Times bestseller that takes a riveting look at the life and times of golf legend Bobby Jones

In the wake of the stock market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports in the summer of 1930. Bobby Jones, a 28-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, he conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the United States Open, and finally the United States Amateur Championship, an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the reader. The Grand Slam is a biography not to be missed.

Mark Frost is the author of the critically acclaimed The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam, and the bestselling The List of 7, The 6 Messiahs, and Before I Wake. He received a Writer's Guild Award and an Emmy nomination for his work as executive story editor on the acclaimed television series Hill Street Blues, and was the co-c...
Loading
Title:The Grand Slam: Bobby Jones, America, And The Story Of GolfFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:514 pages, 8 X 5.25 X 1.25 inShipping dimensions:514 pages, 8 X 5.25 X 1.25 inPublished:September 1, 2005Publisher:Hachette BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1401307515

ISBN - 13:9781401307516

Appropriate for ages: 13

Look for similar items by category: