The Gray Ghost Murders: A Sean Stranahan Mystery

Paperback | December 31, 2013

byKeith Mccafferty

not yet rated|write a review
Buffalo Jump Blues, the fifth novel in the Sean Stranahan mystery series, is coming from Viking on June 28,2016

“Truly wonderful. . . . A mystery that unfolds with grace and humor against a setting of stunning beauty and danger.” —Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of the Anna Pigeon Mysteries

The Gray Ghost Murders is the second novel in the acclaimed Sean Stranahan mystery series

Fourteen months after moving to Montana, fly fisherman, painter, and sometime private detective Sean Stranahan is still sleeping in his office-cum-art-studio, but he's no longer a newcomer. He now knows the rivers and has a new sweetheart, Martinique. And when the bear-ravaged remains of two men are found on Sphinx Mountain, Sheriff Martha Ettinger once more turns to Stranahan for help in solving what smells like murder. Meanwhile, he's also been hired by a group of eccentric fishermen to find their valuable, and possibly stolen, Gray Ghost fly. Could the theft be connected to the gray ghosts haunting the mountain? To find out, Stranahan will cross paths, and arms, with some of the most powerful people in the Madison Valley.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.99 online
$17.00 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Buffalo Jump Blues, the fifth novel in the Sean Stranahan mystery series, is coming from Viking on June 28,2016“Truly wonderful. . . . A mystery that unfolds with grace and humor against a setting of stunning beauty and danger.” —Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of the Anna Pigeon MysteriesThe Gray Ghost Murders is the se...

Keith McCafferty is the survival and outdoor skills editor of Field & Stream, and the author of The Royal Wulff Murders, Dead Man’s Fancy, and Crazy Mountain Kiss, which won the 2016 Spur Award for Best Western Contemporary Novel. Winner of the Traver Award for angling literature, he is a two-time National Magazine awards finalist. He ...

other books by Keith Mccafferty

The Royal Wulff Murders: A Novel
The Royal Wulff Murders: A Novel

Paperback|Jan 29 2013


see all books by Keith Mccafferty
Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.3 × 0.7 inPublished:December 31, 2013Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143124382

ISBN - 13:9780143124382

Look for similar items by category:


Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“This is a truly wonderful read.  In an old and crowded field, Keith has created characters fresh, quirky and yet utterly believable, then stirred them into a mystery that unfolds with grace and humor against a setting of stunning beauty and danger.  Stranahan, the fisherman sleuth, breaks free of the old cliche's and delights with his humanity, vulnerability and love of cats.  Yes, cats.  Keith has written a book that speaks to women and men regardless of color or background.  The only downside of this book is that we must wait a year for the next one.”—Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of the Anna Pigeon Mysteries “McCafferty skillfully weaves Big Sky color, humor, and even romance (in the form of Sean’s stunning new girlfriend, Martinique, who’s bankrolling veterinary school by working as a bikini barista) into the suspenseful plot as it gallops toward a white-knuckle…climax.”—Publishers Weekly“Think big-city CSI teams have it tough? Their examinations of crime scenes are hardly ever interrupted by a grizzly bear like the one that sends Deputy Harold Little Feather to the hospital…Irresistible.”—Kirkus Reviews“Populated by well-drawn characters…This series will appeal to fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box as well as to fly-fishing devotees.”—Booklist“You’ll find yourself obsessed with the story.”— Praise for The Royal Wulff Murders by Keith McCafferty “Sportsmen will find the one-of-a-kind novel captivating, intelligent, and at times uproarious.”—Field & Stream  "Keith McCafferty has pulled off a small miracle with The Royal Wulff Murders — a compelling Montana-based novel that will please both mystery readers and discerning fly-fishers.  A terrific debut that rings with authenticity and style."—C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Back of Beyond and Force of Nature  “An impressive debut… the people here are all solid creations, sometimes prickly but always engaging, characters readers will be more than happy to see again.”—The Houston Chronicle  “Keith McCafferty hits a bull's eye with Sean's story in his debut novel, The Royal Wulff Murders… like bacon and brownies--Stranahan's odd mix of painter, P.I. and fly fisher works. It helps that McCafferty, an editor at Field & Stream, really knows his trout, and life in Bozeman has obviously acquainted him with the ways of Montana. He writes with both a love of nature…common in the outdoorsman. Add the backwoodsy feminism of Sheriff Martha Ettinger, and the mystery is a good fit for enthusiasts of Nevada Barr who have read through all the Anna Pigeon novels. Packed with wilderness action and starring a band of stalwart individualists, The Royal Wulff Murders will have readers begging McCafferty for more.”—Tom Lavoie, for Readers “[A] thoroughly entertaining debut…McCafferty blends plenty of fly-fishing lore with a host of intriguing characters…Only the sharp-eyed observation of the medical examiner suggests the body was a murder victim rather than an accidental drowning. The eventual identification of the victim helps link Stranahan’s task to that of the sheriff. The vivid Montana setting is a plus.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Blue Ribbon is what they call a trout stream of extremely high quality and that’s what I call Keith McCafferty’s The Royal Wulff Murders—the debut of a frighteningly knowledgeable and wonderfully entertaining series.”—Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Hell is Empty “The descriptive scenery writing is good, and the places he writes about are a pleasure for the armchair traveler to visit…The main characters are all likable except, of course, the bad guys.”—San Diego Union-Tribune "What a fine and thoroughly satisfying debut novel! There’s so much to enjoy here—a fresh sense of place, a cast of compelling characters, and a plot line with as many twists and turns as a Montana trout stream. Even if you know nothing about fly fishing, you’re going to love this book. Mark my words: From this day forward, you’ll be buying everything Keith McCafferty writes."—William Kent Krueger, author of Northwest Angle and Iron Lake “What fun it is to visit my favorite fishing spots , not in a guide-boat  but in a wonderful murder mystery.”—Henry Winkler, author of I’ve Never Met an Idiot on the River  “The Royal Wulff Murders hit all my buttons: mystery, flyfishing, Montana, the Madison River, beautiful women, and whole pickup loads of authentic Montana  characters, many of them wonderfully quirky.  Keith McCafferty is one terrific writer.”—Patrick F. McManus, author of The Bear In the Attic and The Huckleberry Murders  “Two chapters in and you know you are in for an interesting read…Each scene is set up with a fisherman’s patience, with the wind, water and wildlife of Montana becoming as important as the human characters we follow…The Royal Wulff Murders should be on any outdoorsman’s reading list.”—Suspense Magazine  "Keith McCafferty's The Royal Wulff Murders is the mystery fly anglers have been waiting for. Finally, an author who knows the crucial difference between 2X and 4X tippet! But it's not just the fishing details that make this novel so enjoyable: it's the rich characters, the robust sense of humor, a sadly topical plot, and a writing style that is as gin-clear as a Montana trout stream."—Paul Doiron, author of Trespasser and The Poacher’s Son