The Great Brain by John D. FitzgeraldThe Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald

The Great Brain

byJohn D. FitzgeraldIllustratorMercer Mayer

Paperback | February 9, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.50

Earn 48 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.  Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.
John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscenses led to eight memorable Great Brai...
The Great Brain Is Back
The Great Brain Is Back

by John D. Fitzgerald

$9.47$9.50

In stock online

Not available in stores

Me And My Little Brain
Me And My Little Brain

by John D. Fitzgerald

$7.57$9.50

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

More Adventures Of The Great Brain
More Adventures Of The Great Brain

by John D. Fitzgerald

$9.44$9.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Great BrainFormat:PaperbackDimensions:208 pages, 7.75 × 5.06 × 0.52 inPublished:February 9, 2004Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0142400580

ISBN - 13:9780142400586

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Customer Reviews of The Great Brain

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Classic Fun series for boys or girls. My kids have loved this. Well-written, innocent, and encourages independent thinking.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Children's Series Ever There are some classic children's series that every child should read. The Great Brain books by John Fitzgerald would be in my top five. These are books that have stood the test of time and are enjoyable to read even as an adult for their inventiveness, their true characterization of children and most importantly their heart. These books teach wonderful life lessons of how to be a good person. I love the way they don't always let Tom (the Brain) win but when it counts he is still the hero of the stories. He is a con man (boy) and a swindler but he still proves himself to be a good person and often uses his great brain to help others. Teaching a crippled boy he isn't useless, teaching a Greek Immigrant boy to fit in and telling the truth when he realizes he has done something that is wrong in his father's eyes. I also love how clever the stories are. The Brain does figure out things adults don't but not in an unrealistic way but in a clever way you can believe a gifted child could accomplish. All the books in this series are wonderful (my fav is the Great Brain at the Academy) and every parent should expose their children to them.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great series I read these books back when I was a kid and they were first published and have been looking for them since to read to my children. I'd highly reccomend any of them.
Date published: 2004-01-25

Editorial Reviews

* "A funny, fast-moving, endearing book that [readers] will lap up!"--Kirkus Reviews, starred review