The Great Brain

Paperback | February 9, 2004

byJohn D. FitzgeraldIllustratorMercer Mayer

not yet rated|write a review
This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.  Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.30
$9.50 list price save 12%
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Sk...

John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscenses led to eight memorable Great Brai...

other books by John D. Fitzgerald

Me And My Little Brain
Me And My Little Brain

Paperback|Feb 9 2004

$6.83$9.50list pricesave 28%
FM 2016: Formal Methods: 21st International Symposium, Limassol, Cyprus, November 9-11, 2016…
FM 2016: Formal Methods: 21st International Symposium, ...

Kobo ebook|Nov 6 2016

$91.19$113.99list pricesave 20%
Greenhouse Gas Emission Inventories: Interim Results from the U.S. Country Studies Program
Greenhouse Gas Emission Inventories: Interim Results fr...

Kobo ebook|Mar 9 2013

$214.09$277.93list pricesave 22%
see all books by John D. Fitzgerald
Format:PaperbackDimensions:192 pages, 7.7 × 5 × 0.55 inPublished:February 9, 2004Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0142400580

ISBN - 13:9780142400586

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Customer Reviews of The Great Brain

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

* "A funny, fast-moving, endearing book that [readers] will lap up!"--Kirkus Reviews, starred review