The Great Treehouse War by Lisa GraffThe Great Treehouse War by Lisa Graff

The Great Treehouse War

byLisa Graff

Hardcover | May 16, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.65 online 
$18.99 list price
Earn 93 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie’s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.

By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses—and her friends decide to join. It’s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.

In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?

This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:

The Great Treehouse War

"It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."—School Library Journal

"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."—Booklist

"[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."—Publishers Weekly

"A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."—Horn Book

Lost in the Sun

* "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."—School Library Journal, starred review

"This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."—Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars

"Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."—Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder

Absolutely Almost


* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."—Booklist, starred review

* "Achingly superb."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."—BookPage

A Tangle of Knots

“A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.”—Entertainment Weekly, A-

* “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.”—Booklist, starred review
Lisa Graff (www.lisagraff.com) is the critically acclaimed and award-winning author of Lost in the Sun, Absolutely Almost, A Tangle of Knots, Double Dog Dare, Sophie Simon Solves Them All, Umbrella Summer, The Life and Crimes of Bernetta Wallflower, and The Thing About Georgie. Lisa Graff’s books have been named to more than forty stat...
Loading
Title:The Great Treehouse WarFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.56 × 5.69 × 0.96 inPublished:May 16, 2017Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0525514503

ISBN - 13:9780525514503

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:The Great Treehouse War"It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion, and Graff’s not-quite-fantasy world is every kid’s dream....Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air. A strong addition to any middle grade collection."—School Library Journal"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this appealing chapter book is easyto booktalk and fun to read."—Booklist"In this appealing faux-memoir, [Lisa Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."—Publishers Weekly"It’s a good-naturedsatire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity, but mostly it’sall about what fun it is to live in a tree."—Horn BookLost in the Sun* "Graff writes with stunning insight [and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."—Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW** "Graff creates layered, vulnerable characters that are worth getting to know."—Booklist *STARRED REVIEW** "[A]n ambitious and gracefully executed story."—Publishers Weekly *STARRED REVIEW** "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal."—School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW** "Characterization is thoughtful."—BCCB *STARRED REVIEW*"This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you."—Gary Schmidt, author of The Wednesday Wars"Lisa Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy and the world of people he cares about. And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."—Richard Peck, author of A Year Down YonderAbsolutely Almost * "Albie comes through significant emotional hardship to a genuine sense of self-worth."—School Library Journal, *STARRED REVIEW** "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."—Booklist, *STARRED REVIEW* * "Achingly superb, Albie’s story shines."—Kirkus Reviews, *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward, taking on the world at his own speed."—Publishers Weekly, *STARRED REVIEW* "Lately the patrons of my school library have been asking, “Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?” and now I have the perfect offering."—BookPage "Maybe the wonder of Absolutely Almost is that it’s willing to give us an almost unheard of hero."—Betsy Bird, Fuse #8 Blog"Graff...again draws on her ability to create rich lifeworlds for her characters to present a boy who is gifted in many ways....[T]his is a sharp portrait of an outsider’s inner perspective, and Albie’s coming to terms with himself will be cheered by many."--BCCB Reviews A Clatter of Jars:"Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."—School Library Journal"Graff’s vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes."—Booklist"Graff’s prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."—BookpageA Tangle of Knots“Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in.”—Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A-* “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”—Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW** “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come.”—Booklist *STARRED REVIEW*