The Heart of Midlothian [Christmas Summary Classics] by Sir Walter Scott

The Heart of Midlothian [Christmas Summary Classics]

bySir Walter Scott

Kobo ebook | December 5, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Christmas Summary Classics
This series contains summary of Classic books such as Emma, Arne, Arabian Nights, Pride and prejudice, Tower of London, Wealth of Nations etc. Each book is specially crafted after reading complete book in less than 30 pages. One who wants to get joy of book reading especially in very less time can go for it.

The Heart of Midlothian
John Ruskin coupled "Rob Roy" and "The Heart of Midlothian" as the best of all the "Waverley Novels." The latter, constituting the second series in the "Tales of My Landlord," was published in 1818, and was composed during a period of recurrent fits of intense bodily pain. The romance gets its name from Midlothian, or Middle Lothian, an Edinburgh prison which in days gone by used to mark the centre of the district of Lothian, between the Tweed and the Forth, now the County of Edinburgh. According to Scott himself, the story of the heroism of Jeannie Deans was founded on fact. Her prototype was one Helen Walker, the daughter of a small Dumfriesshire farmer, who in order to get the Duke of Argyle to intercede to save her sister's life got up a petition and actually walked to London barefoot to present it to his grace. Helen Walker died in 1791, and on the tombstone of this unassuming heroine is an inscription by Scott himself.

Title:The Heart of Midlothian [Christmas Summary Classics]Format:Kobo ebookPublished:December 5, 2012Publisher:Zhingoora BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: