The Holders

Paperback | March 5, 2013

byJulianna Scott

not yet rated|write a review

17-year-old Becca has spent her whole life protecting her brother – from their father leaving and from the people who say the voices in his head are unnatural. When two strangers appear with apparent answers to Ryland’s “problem” and details about a school in Ireland where Ryland will not only fit in, but prosper, Becca is up in arms.

She reluctantly agrees to join Ryland on his journey and what they find at St. Brigid’s is a world beyond their imagination. Little by little they piece together information about their family’s heritage and the legend of the Holder race that decrees Ryland is the one they’ve been waiting for—but, they are all, especially Becca, in for a surprise that will change what they thought they knew about themselves and their kind.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.99

Out of stock online

From the Publisher

17-year-old Becca has spent her whole life protecting her brother – from their father leaving and from the people who say the voices in his head are unnatural. When two strangers appear with apparent answers to Ryland’s “problem” and details about a school in Ireland where Ryland will not only fit in, but prosper, Becca is up in arms.S...

Julianna was born In Pittsburgh, Pensylvainia, and spent the majority of her educational career convinced she would be a musican. However, after recieving her music degree from Edinboro University of Pennsylvania, she realized that she'd been born in the wrong era for her dreams of singing jazz to adoring fans clad in zoot-suits and fl...

other books by Julianna Scott

The Seers
The Seers

Paperback|Feb 4 2014

$10.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 7.73 × 5.12 × 0.98 inPublished:March 5, 2013Publisher:Watkins MediaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1908844434

ISBN - 13:9781908844439

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great character driven novel The Holders is a familiar tale. It’s actually the second book about a boarding school for kids with special abilities I’ve read this month! But Julianna Scott manages to take a familiar concept and infuse it with enough of her own ideas and brilliant characters so that it’s hard not to get caught up in all the excitement. Our journey into the world of The Holders is guided by a teenage girl named Becca. I love Becca’s narrative voice. She felt like someone I would want to be friends with. She’s quite clever, having graduated high school when she was only 15, but isn’t stuck up about it. She’s also fiercely loyal to anyone she cares about – especially her family, and this immediately earns her points in my book. And if that weren’t enough she’s brazen, courageous and speaks her mind, no matter what. She’s someone you can respect and someone that you want to cheer for. In a similar vein it’s also really easy to root for Becca’s relationship with Alex. Like Becca, Alex is an extremely likable character. If you’re tired of the “bad boy” trope than you’re going to love him! He’s so sweet and genuine. I like that they were drawn to one another right away but still had to work to be together. Their romance was never easy or obvious or without obstacle. But it was also totally swoon worthy and adorable. The further I get in writing this review, the more I realize that it was really the characters that sold this story for me. Too often in YA novels, familial realtionships are forgotten or pushed into the background. The Holders, on the other hand, is all about family dynamic. There’s how protective Becca is of her younger brother. There’s the way Mother and daughter have bonded to keep the family going. And complications over meeting an estranged father again. I loved seeing so many different focuses on familial relationships. There are a lot of other things to love about The Holders – a detailed history and Celtic element come to mind – but it was really the characters that sold this novel for me. It wouldn’t have been the same story without them. Julianna Scott takes her time revealing what’s going on and the beginning can be a bit slow. But I found this detailed beginning really fleshed out what I was getting into. I would have liked if the pacing was picked up a little, but it is the first in the series, so perhaps the second book will move along faster. Recommendation: If you prefer novels that are more fast paced and plot driven this one may not appeal to you but if you like character driven novels AND if you’re a fan of X-Men and Harry Potter and happen to have a love affair with Ireland (who doesn’t?) this book is for you. This and other reviews at More Than Just Magic (http://morethanjustmagic.org)
Date published: 2013-03-22

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

'A fierce and intelligent heroine, a sibling with a challenging destiny to discover, a heart-warming romance, and an X-men type school for special powers in the Emerald Isle, all add up to a superbly gripping tale. I loved Becca and can't wait to read more of her world. A fantastic read!' – Suzanne McLeod, author of the Spellcrackers.com urban fantasy series"Recommended to: Fans of X-Men, Fantasy buffs and anyone willing to have their world rocked. The Holders is a refreshing change in the Young Adult Fantasy arena, buy this book, hold it close to your chest and fall in love."-Rebekah, Reflections of a Book Worm.""I liked this one a lot!  I would recommend it to fans of Veronica Roth, Veronica Rossi and Leigh Bardugo, or anyone who enjoys a good urban fantasy or books with a Celtic background...4.5/5 Stars"-Allodoxophobia "Unexpected betrayal, fascinating twists in the story, and the attraction between Becca and Alex makes his story an incredible read."-Michele, PageTurnersBlog  ‎"Very well-written and unique, The Holders is an awesome read that will leave you with a strong hunger for the next book." -My Crazy Book Obsession"Becca and Alex's romance was so well done - bursting with believable romantic tension enough so that, had I been reading a physical copy, I would have been skipping ahead to try and find the next scenes involving them together." -Liberty Gilmore"Although this is a YA novel, its depth makes it much more than that. If you’re into heroic, paranormal, fantasy novels with a touch of romance then you’ll want to know more about this one." -Popcorn Reads"The Holders is total awesomeness. The characters are wonderful. This storyline is fantastic. The romance is heart-melting. Julianna Scott is an awesome writer and storyteller."-I Heart YA Books"For the first time in a long while I became invested in the characters in this book as though I had been reading about them for a long time." -Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom"The story has some great surprises and twists, lots of magic, lore, and dangerous excitement.  I highly recommend picking this one up, I doubt you'll be disappointed!  The next in this series will be high on my list of anticipated reads next year!"-Stories & Sweeties"Top-notch YA Urban Fantasy"-Christal"What really worked for me in this story were the characters, and the intertwining relationships between them all. The back of this book might say it's about a school for people with powers, but really this book is about people, relationships, and watching them evolve."-Ryan