The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyone--Especially Ourselves by Dan Ariely

The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyone--Especially Ourselves

byDan Ariely

Paperback | June 18, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

Earn 93 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders’ extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

About The Author

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in theNew York Times,Wall Street Journal,Washington Post,Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Details & Specs

Title:The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyone--Especially OurselvesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.76 inPublished:June 18, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062183613

ISBN - 13:9780062183613

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyone--Especially Ourselves

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Through a remarkable series of experiments, Ariely presents a convincing case. . . . Required reading for politicians and Wall Street executives.”