The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose WoodThe Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

byMaryrose Wood

Paperback | April 21, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 43 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabricat...
Title:The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious HowlingFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.58 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062366939

ISBN - 13:9780062366931


Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Howlingly funny read Three wild children, possibly raised by wolves, are found near Ashton Hall and are taken in by the Lord of the Manor ( who, we later find, has a few barking issues of his own). A young governess, abandoned as a child to the care of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, takes over their care teaching the children to read, do maths and to eat cooked meat - with a good helping of tomato ketchup, oh and to not chase squirrels! Lady Ashton, the young and fluffy wife who is equally terrified of the children and desperate to send them back to where they came from. I mean, who can cope with all that howling? Enter Alahwoo ( Alexander), Beowoo ( Beowolf) and Cassawoof ( Cassiopeia) and the hilarious tale of how they learn how to be human children after living wild. This is like the Jungle Book, minus the singing bear, but a jolly good, laugh out loud book for the whole family. I bought this for my 8 year old as the text is more complicated, the older style of language making it more challenging. We now have all but the final book in the series and I would recommend them to anyone who likes funny, mystery books with a slightly sinister twist to the tale. Can't wait to find out how it all ends.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Series for the Whole Family We read this series aloud as a family (children ages 4 to 10) and absolutely loved it. Our 9 year old has also read it on her own and giggles the whole way through. I highly recommend it to everyone we know. The first book in the series is really lovely, but each book gets better and better.
Date published: 2017-11-15

Editorial Reviews

Every newspaper and website in America is going to tell you that The Mysterious Howling will leave you HOWLING FOR MORE! So I’m not going to say that. But it’s really good.