The Indian School by Gloria WhelanThe Indian School by Gloria Whelan

The Indian School

byGloria Whelan

Paperback | August 28, 1997

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.29 online 
$6.71 list price save 6%
Earn 31 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A critically acclaimed historical novel by the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird.

When shy ten-year-old Lucy comes to live with her aunt and uncle at their mission school, she's surprised at the number of harsh rules and restrictions imposed on the children. Why, she wonders, should the Indians have to do all the changing? And why is her aunt so strict with them?

Then a girl called Raven runs away in protest, and Lucy knows she must overcome her timidity and stand up to her aunt—no matter what the consequences.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Linda Sue Park and Louise Erdrich.

Gloria Whelan is the bestselling author of many novels for young readers, including Homeless Bird, winner of the National Book Award, The Locked Garden, Parade of Shadows, and Listening for Lions. She lives in Michigan near Lake St. Clair.
Loading
Title:The Indian SchoolFormat:PaperbackDimensions:96 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.19 inPublished:August 28, 1997Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064420566

ISBN - 13:9780064420563

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Reviews

From Our Editors

When shy, 10-year-old Lucy comes to live with her aunt and uncle at their mission school, she's surprised at the number of harsh rules and restrictions imposed on the children. Then a girl called Raven runs away in protest, and Lucy knows she must overcome her timidity and stand up to her aunt--no matter what the consequences.

Editorial Reviews

"Whelan manages to transport the reader into a believable and complex past." (Publishers Weeekly)