The Initiation by Chris Babu

The Initiation

byChris Babu

Kobo ebook | February 27, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

In a ruined world, Manhattan is now New America, a walled-in society based on equality. But the perfect facade hides a dark truth.

A timid math geek, sixteen-year-old Drayden watches his life crumble when his beloved mother is exiled. The mystery of her banishment leads him to a sinister secret: New America is in trouble, and every one of its citizens is in jeopardy.

With time running out, he enters the Initiation. It’s a test within the empty subway tunnels—a perilous journey of puzzles and deadly physical trials. Winners join the ruling Bureau and move to its safe haven. But failure means death. Can Drayden conquer the Initiation, or is salvation out of his grasp?

Title:The InitiationFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 27, 2018Publisher:Permuted PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1682615944

ISBN - 13:9781682615942

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from For Fans of The Hunger Games and Maze Runner I love it when books turn out better than you expected, and The Initiation was one of those wonderful books. This was such fun to read. It was hard to stop and put down, which is a great testament to the story. And while it started like the typical dystopian, with the world breaking down due to disease and warfare and class inequality as the central driving plot force, Babu took it in a direction I really enjoyed. First, I loved the world-building. New York City always seems to be the centre of the world with these kind of stories, but I liked how it was laid out. Self-sufficiency in energy and food production, and with a sense of normalcy with school for all, movies in the park and teenagers being teenagers—albeit in a limited world. The Initiation really put me in mind of The Hunger Games with a dash of The Maze Runner. The event itself is a challenge that will either end in your imminent death or an upgrade in your social status. But the journey to get there was a lot of fun. I was such a fan of the fact the whole thing took place in the abandoned subway tunnels. I wasn't sure what to expect of the Initiation, but the intelligence and bravery tests were so engaging and exciting. Particularly the intelligence ones. For instance, one was that puzzle where you have two different sized cylinders and need to find a certain amount of liquid that is neither of the marked sizes. I was racking my brains trying to remember how to do it, and I was impressed with how the characters handled it. In particular, I really liked how he worked through the puzzles, bringing me along to the conclusion without conclusion. And the best part about all these riddles and athletic challenges? None of them were predictable, which I wholeheartedly expected to happen. The cast of characters was great. Considering there were six main characters, each one stood out on their own and brought their own element to the Initiation challenge. The bully is a character you love to hate. The love triangle between Drayden and the two girls was surprisingly enjoyable. Normally I dislike books with love triangles because it always seems to take over the story, but that wasn't the case here. It was always there, but it was subtle and brought up in a reasonable and believable way. You're fighting for your life, not pining after the only girls in the challenge with you. Somethings need to take precedence, and Babu did it right! Finally—and I won't give anything away—but what happens with best friend angle ... colour me shook. I was stunned, and I live for that as a reader. The only thing I struggled with is it did get a little repetitive at times. There's only so many intelligence and bravery challenges you can go through before you need to take a step back. It's unavoidable with this kind of plot and the setting of the story, but still. Another thing was sometimes the tasks dragged on because they went into a bit too much detail. I was lost until they actually put their game plan into action. Overall, this is a fantastic entry into what I'm sure will be a promising series. The ending threw me for a loop with a twist I certainly hadn't expected. To be fair, I expected what transpired to happen at the end of book 2—I'm assuming this will be a trilogy—and in a different circumstance. The surprise I got instead was refreshing, and I can't wait to read what happens next. 4/5
Date published: 2018-02-25