The Innocent: A Coroner Jenny Cooper Crime Short

Kobo ebook | December 6, 2012

byM. R. Hall

not yet rated|write a review

An exclusive free edition of this gripping short crime story featuring Coroner Jenny Cooper, from the double CWA Gold Dagger shortlisted author of The Coroner.

When Coroner Jenny Cooper crashes her car one bright September morning, she finds her mind propelled back to the past . . .

Ten years ago Jenny Cooper, a burned out family lawyer, finds herself embroiled in the most difficult of cases when a fourteen year old girl in her care is killed, falling under a train. It seems both the girl's family and the authorities are determined to prove Jenny responsible. But what is the real truth behind Natasha's tragic death?

A gripping, moving short court-room drama, perfect for fans of Lynda La Plante, Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs, Peter James and Denise Mina, The Innocent is a fantastic introduction to M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper crime series.

Praise for M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper series:

'Fasten your seatbelts for a quality thriller . . . Hall's Gold Dagger-nominated books, quite simply, get better each time...wonderful stuff, chillingly plausible' Independent on Sunday

‘An edge-of-the-seat thriller’ Irish Independent

‘Ed McBain semi-inaugurated the forensics genre, but Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs parleyed his innovations into stratospheric sales. But the field has not become an exclusively female sorority – or an American domain. A highly talented male writer has offered a challenge...’ Independent

‘It’s a terrific series, meticulously researched, sharply plotted and peopled with sympathetic characters, led by Cooper, who is always aware of the human consequences of failure’ Financial Times

‘A hypnotic piece of work’ Barry Forshaw, Independent Best Books for Christmas feature

‘Hall shows with aplomb that a coroner is just as able to become a detective as the forensic pathologists of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs’ Sunday Times

‘Intelligent and intricate, and grips from the beginning to end’ Woman & Home

‘An excellent and compelling detective drama’ Daily Mail

‘This big, well-executed debut novel by screenwriter and producer MR Hall has meaty characters and a chewy plot in the Lynda La Plante style’ The Guardian

'A brilliant, original and gripping crime novel – I can't wait for MR Hall's next one!' Sophie Hannah

Pricing and Purchase Info

$0.00

Available for download
Not available in stores

From the Publisher

An exclusive free edition of this gripping short crime story featuring Coroner Jenny Cooper, from the double CWA Gold Dagger shortlisted author of The Coroner. When Coroner Jenny Cooper crashes her car one bright September morning, she finds her mind propelled back to the past . . . Ten years ago Jenny Cooper, a burned out family lawye...

Format:Kobo ebookPublished:December 6, 2012Publisher:Pan MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:023077198X

ISBN - 13:9780230771987

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Innocent: A Coroner Jenny Cooper Crime Short

Reviews