The Inventor's Secret

April 22, 2014|
The Inventor's Secret by Andrea Cremer
$18.90 
$21.00
Hardcover
Earn 95 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray''s The Diviners, Cassandra Clare''s Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld''s Leviathan and Phillip Reeve''s Mortal Engines.


Praise for THE INVENTOR''S SECRET

* "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review

"[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews
Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, Rift and Rise. She is also the author of the Inventor''s Secret series, and of Invisibility,which she co-wrote with David Levithan. She lives in Claremont, CA. You can vi...
Loading
Title:The Inventor's Secret
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:336 pages, 8.6 X 5.88 X 1.2 in
Shipping dimensions:336 pages, 8.6 X 5.88 X 1.2 in
Published:April 22, 2014
Publisher:Penguin Young Readers Group
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780399159626

Recently Viewed
|