The Investigation

Paperback | March 27, 2014

byJung-Myung Lee

not yet rated|write a review
At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation ? inspired by a true story ? is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind.Longlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction PrizeFukuoka Prison, 1944. Beyond the prison walls the war rages; inside a man is found brutally murdered.Yuichi Watanabe, a young guard with a passion for reading, is ordered to investigate. The victim, Sugiyama - also a guard - was feared and despised throughout the prison and inquiries have barely begun when a powerful inmate confesses. But Watanabe is unconvinced; and as he interrogates both the suspect and Yun Dong-ju, a talented Korean poet, he begins to realise that the fearsome guard was not all he appeared to be . . . As Watanabe unravels Sugiyama's final months, he begins to discover what is really going on inside this dark and violent institution, which few inmates survive: a man who will stop at nothing to dig his way to freedom; a governor whose greed knows no limits; a little girl whose kite finds her an unlikely friend. And Yun Dong-ju - the poet whose works hold such beauty they can break the hardest of hearts. As the war moves towards its devastating close and bombs rain down upon the prison, Watanabe realises that he must find a way to protect Yun Dong-ju, no matter what it takes. This decision will lead the young guard back to the investigation - where he will discover a devastating truth . . . At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for lost freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation - inspired by a true story - is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.99 online
$25.99 list price (save 50%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation ? inspired by a true story ? is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind.Longlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction PrizeFukuoka Prison, 1944. Beyond the prison walls the war rages; inside...

Lee Jung-myung has sold hundreds of thousands of copies of his books in his native Korea. One, Deep Rooted Tree, was made into a popular TV series. Chi-Young Kim is the celebrated translator of the Man Asian Booker Prize-winning international bestseller Please Look After Mother.

other books by Jung-Myung Lee

El guardia, el poeta y el prisionero
El guardia, el poeta y el prisionero

Kobo ebook|Sep 4 2014

$13.76

The Investigation
The Investigation

Kobo ebook|Mar 27 2014

$10.59 online$13.76list price(save 23%)
Le garde, le poète et le prisonnier
Le garde, le poète et le prisonnier

Kobo ebook|May 7 2014

$19.99

see all books by Jung-Myung Lee
Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 9.18 × 6.13 × 0.99 inPublished:March 27, 2014Publisher:Pan MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230768725

ISBN - 13:9780230768727

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Investigation

Reviews