The Iron Flower by Laurie ForestThe Iron Flower by Laurie Forest

The Iron Flower

byLaurie Forest

Hardcover | September 18, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.74 online 
$25.99 list price save 8%
Earn 119 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Dark forces are on the rise in this sweeping sequel to The Black Witch by critically acclaimed author Laurie Forest.

Elloren Gardner and her friends were only seeking to right a few wrongs when they rescued a Selkie and freed a military dragon. The last thing they expected was to be thrust into a realm-wide underground resistance against Gardnerian conquest.

While the Resistance struggles to fight back against the harsh rulings of the Mage Council, more and more Gardnerian soldiers descend upon the University…led by none other than Lukas Grey, now commander of the nearby military base. Though Elloren tries to keep him at arm's length, Lukas is determined to tie himself to her, still convinced that she is the heir to the power of the Black Witch, a legacy of magic that will decide the future of all Erthia. As his own magic calls out to her, seeking to awaken a dark force within, Elloren finds it more and more difficult to believe that she's truly powerless, as her uncle always claimed.

Caught between her growing feelings for the rebellious Yvan Guriel and the seductive power offered by Lukas, Elloren must find a way to stay true to what she knows is right and protect everyone she loves…even if that means protecting them from herself.


Critics are raving about Laurie Forest's incredible debut, The Black Witch:

“Elloren learns to question authority and Gardnerian history, while developing real empathy for different races and species. Forest uses a richly imagined magical world to offer an uncompromising condemnation of prejudice and injustice.” —Booklist, starred review

“Exquisite character work, an elaborate mythology, and a spectacularly rendered universe make this a noteworthy debut, which argues passionately against fascism and xenophobia.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This briskly paced, tightly plotted novel enacts the transformative power of education, creating engaging characters set in a rich alternative universe with a complicated history that can help us better understand our own.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Title:The Iron FlowerFormat:HardcoverDimensions:608 pages, 9.51 × 6.42 × 1.51 inPublished:September 18, 2018Publisher:HarlequinLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:133591739X

ISBN - 13:9781335917393

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo Good!!! This series is so under hyped! Laurie Forest continues to amaze me with her writing abilities. It's dark, it has depth, its complex, relevant, diverse, has crazy amazing world building, some of the best supporting characters I've ever read about all packed into an agonizingly wonderful slow burn fantasy with a dash of romance that will leave you swooning! If you're not reading this series you should be...
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing! Sometimes books fall into that second book slump category and The Iron Flower was nowhere near that! This was an amazing Sequel to The Black Witch, if you enjoyed that then you will absolutely love this! This book really showed the authors ability to tell a story, her creativity, passion and the ability to adapt and listen to feedback. The Iron Flower is packed full of magic, rebellion, adventure, excitement, romance, eye opening moments, heartbreak and friendship. I’ll just say, grab the tissues because you’ll need them for this book. This book is over 600 pages long and while reading it, it didn’t feel that way, the story flew by, it was so enjoyable and I felt like was transported into the story. Laurie Forest did an amazing job bringing us back into the this world. The world itself is rich, immersive, magical, well developed and full of problems and injustices mirrored in our societies today. The book does deal with heavy topics like racism, prejudice and the mistreatment and gross injustice of certain groups of people. Elloren is such a fantastic main character, we saw her develop a lot of the the course of The Black Witch and she continues to do so throughout The Iron Flower. Elloren is determined to fight for what she believes is right, she will fight for the love she deserves and the fair treatment and justice for all people. Although she may look like her Grandmother, she isn’t her grandmother, she has very different ideas about the world and the people and she wont stop fighting for it. She’s also believes she is powerless, void of magic and will help and fight in any other way she can. The book is nice and evenly paced with a bit more action at times and we get to see a lot more of the world. Elloren manages to travel to a few different areas and we get to meet some very interesting new characters. There are some pretty great plot twist in this book that you wont see coming! What I really like about the author and the form of storytelling and writing she does is that she isn’t afraid to be ruthless with her characters. She isn’t afraid to break the hearts of her readers. Every move and every scene serves a purpose to the story and helps develop it, everything is so well thought out and foreshadowed, if you’re not paying attention you’ll really miss some important stuff. So, pay attention to the detail, pay attention to the little things said in passing. The only reason I didn’t give this book five stars is because my ship didn’t sail, I was rooting so hard for that ship and it sunk *le sigh*. I’m really excited to see what will happen in the next book, there are so many directions this series can go and so many different things that can happen. This is such an amazing high fantasy series and if you haven’t read the first book The Black Witch I urge you to. If you haven’t read it because of the controversy surrounding The Black Witch please do yourself a favour and read it, form your own opinions. I will continue to recommend this series to any fantasy lover I meet.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Sequel Better Than The Original This was a very entertaining, creative, and fantastical sequel to "The Black Witch". In this follow-up, I continued to really enjoy the unique world that was created. Laurie Forest truly created a unique world of her own and the world-building was exemplary in that all of the background was explained in detail. With that being said, there were moments that that novel felt longer than necessary, but I appreciated the attention to detail. This novel's storyline progressed and developed much different than the original novel (in a good way). I found myself more interested in the story of this second novel and the content within came across as more dark, serious, and full of mystery. The downfall of this novel, as mentioned, was the length. There were moments of intensity and other moments that I found myself racing through the pages, however; there were sections of this novel that I felt my eyes would glaze over. It was a catch-22 in the respect that although I did appreciate the attention to detail, occasionally I felt that there were too many details that were not necessary to include. I know that I will continue the series with the next book that is released as I want to see where the story goes from here. There is still quite a lot of unanswered questions and climactic moments that need to resolve and I'm interested to see what happens next. ***Thank you to HCC Frenzy for providing me with an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review***
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic second book in the series! I won both books in this series from the publisher in an Instagram contest. The second book, The Iron Flower, comes out in September. So, I’m a little late to the party when it comes to The Black Witch Chronicles. How on earth did I miss out on the first book?! I’m super happy I’ve had the opportunity to read it now, and to also read the second! This series is YA, of the epic fantasy variety. Basically, it’s about a world tearing itself apart through racism and hatred. Yes, it’s dystopian. And yes, it does have a prophecy, and a central female character that starts out ordinary but quickly becomes exceptional. But even with these common YA tropes, this story is so well written that it feels pretty fresh and new. Forest has created a world that is incredibly detailed - from the setting, all the way to the individual races and religions. It’s very unique. I loved the strong female characters, even with their many flaws. Really, it was the complexity of it all that impressed me. I couldn’t see where the conflict was heading, and there were some pretty heart-wrenching twists that were a total surprise. The Iron Flower is definitely not the last book in the series, and I’m looking forward to reading the next one!
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another wonderful book! *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* This series continues to amaze me... what a thrilling sequel! While at times it was a little romance heavy, everything else was developed to perfection.
Date published: 2018-07-16

Editorial Reviews

"...fans will be delighted and begging for the next title-and the cliff-hanger ending promises us there will be one." - Booklist"Laurie Forest exceeded my expectations tenfold with an action-packed epic sequel. The Iron Flower is an emotional rollercoaster full of adventure and romance that won't let you go until you finish, and maybe even after...a heartbreakingly beautiful book."- Selene Kallan, author of The Immortal Heritage Saga"What a sequel!...An amazing second installment to the series." -YA Books Central"This series explores social justice themes with freshness and real depth. That's enough for four stars right there." -Common Sense Media"Exquisite character work, an elaborate mythology, and a spectacularly rendered universe make this a noteworthy debut, which argues passionately against fascism and xenophobia."-Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Black Witch"This briskly paced, tightly plotted novel enacts the transformative power of education, creating engaging characters set in a rich alternative universe with a complicated history that can help us better understand our own."-Kirkus Reviews, starred review on The Black Witch* "Fans of Harry Potter and Tamora Pierce will gobble down the 600-plus pages and demand the sequel."-Booklist, starred review on The Black Witch"I absolutely loved The Black Witch and will have a very hard time waiting for the second book! Maximum suspense, unusual magic--a whole new, thrilling approach to fantasy!"-Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author on The Black Witch