The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

The Jane Austen Project

byKathleen A. Flynn

Paperback | May 2, 2017 | Large Print

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.99

Earn 125 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.

 

 

Details & Specs

Title:The Jane Austen ProjectFormat:Paperback | Large PrintDimensions:496 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.99 inPublished:May 2, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006267031X

ISBN - 13:9780062670311

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Jane Austen Project

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“I loved THE JANE AUSTEN PROJECT. Brilliantly written and a must-read for any Jane Austen fan!”