The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars -A Pulp-Lit Annotated Omnibus Edition by Edgar Rice BurroughsThe John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars -A Pulp-Lit Annotated Omnibus Edition by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The…

byEdgar Rice Burroughs, Finn J.D. John

Hardcover | August 1, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 260 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The original interplanetary swashbuckler:
John Carter is a fighting man of Earth (or is he?) transported suddenly to the surface of a strange planet full of fierce green giants, savage white apes, and noble but warlike humans — including the one he loves. But can he save her from the doom that threatens to destroy the entire planet?

In a little over 100 years, the Martian tales of Edgar Rice Burroughs have changed the literary world, launching science fiction as a literary category and inspiring generations of young readers to spin their own wildly imaginative tales of distant planets and strange civilizations. This collection, gracefully and unobtrusively annotated, comprises the first three books of the series, which combine as a trilogy to tell the story of Captain Jack Carter’s adventures among the many strange civilizations of a dying planet.

About the Author:
Edgar Rice Burroughs came to the craft of fiction writing late in life, after trying his hand at a wide variety of trades and business ventures. By the time he sat down to write his first novel, A Princess of Mars, he had been a high-plains cowboy, a U.S. Cavalry soldier, an industrial gold miner, a railroad policeman, a door-to-door salesman, a store owner and a serial entrepreneur.

Then one day, while working as a wholesale representative for a going-nowhere pencil sharpener maker, Burroughs decided to while away some of the extra time by getting started on a crazy story to submit to one of the pulp fiction magazines. The result was A Princess of Mars — and the launching of the literary career of one of the most prolific, successful authors in history.

Edgar Rice Burroughs was born on September 1, 1875, in Chicago. His father, George Tyler was a distiller and a battery manufacturer. Early in life Burroughs attempted to support his family in a variety of occupations, including railroad policeman, business partner, and miner. None of these proved successful. However, Burroughs had alwa...
Title:The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The…Format:HardcoverDimensions:636 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 1.56 inPublished:August 1, 2016Publisher:Pulp-Lit ProductionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1945032006

ISBN - 13:9781945032004


Table of Contents

Preface 1How to use this book 5Introduction 7A Princess of Mars 21 Foreword 23Chapter I: On the Arizona Hills 27Chapter II: The Escape of the Dead 35Chapter III: My Advent on Mars 41Chapter IV: A Prisoner 49Chapter V: I Elude My Watch Dog 55Chapter VI: A Fight that Won Friends 59Chapter VII: Child-Raising on Mars 65Chapter VIII: A Fair Captive from the Sky 71Chapter IX: I Learn the Language 77Chapter X: Champion and Chief 81Chapter XI: With Dejah Thoris 91Chapter XII: A Prisoner with Power 97Chapter XIII: Love-Making on Mars 103Chapter XIV: A Duel to the Death 109Chapter XV: Sola Tells Me Her Story 117Chapter XVI: We Plan Escape 125Chapter XVII: A Costly Recapture 135Chapter XVIII: Chained in Warhoon 143Chapter XIX: Battling in the Arena 147Chapter XX: In the Atmosphere Factory 153Chapter XXI: An Air Scout for Zodanga 161Chapter XXII: I Find Dejah 171Chapter XXIII: Lost in the Sky 181Chapter XXIV: Tars Tarkas Finds a Friend 187Chapter XXV: The Looting of Zodanga 195Chapter XXVI: Through Carnage to Joy 201Chapter XXVII: From Joy to Death 207Chapter XXVIII: At the Arizona Cave 213 Annotations: A Princess of Mars 215Book Two: The Gods of Mars 229 Foreword 231Chapter I: The Plant Men 235Chapter II: A Forest Battle 245Chapter III: The Chamber of Mystery 257Chapter IV: Thuvia 269Chapter V: Corridors of Peril 279Chapter VI: The Black Pirates of Barsoom 287Chapter VII: A Fair Goddess 295Chapter VIII: The Depths of Omean 305Chapter IX: Issus, Goddess of Life Eternal 317Chapter X: The Prison Isle of Shador 325Chapter XI: When Hell Broke Loose 333Chapter XII: Doomed to Die 345Chapter XIII: A Break for Liberty 353Chapter XIV: The Eyes in the Dark 365Chapter XV: Flight and Pursuit 377Chapter XVI: Under Arrest 385Chapter XVII: The Death Sentence 395Chapter XVIII: Sola's Story 403Chapter XIX: Black Despair 411Chapter XX: The Air Battle 423Chapter XXI: Through Flood and Flame 435Chapter XXII: Victory and Defeat 443 Annotations: The Gods of Mars 453Book Three: The Warlord of Mars 463Chapter I: On the River Iss 465Chapter II: Under the Mountain 475Chapter III: The Temple of the Sun 485Chapter IV: The Secret Tower 495Chapter V: On the Kaolian Road 505Chapter VI: A Hero in Kaol 517Chapter VII: New Allies 525Chapter VIII: Through the Carrion Caves 535Chapter IX: With the Yellow Men 545Chapter X In Durance 553Chapter XI: The Pit of Plenty 561Chapter XII: Follow the Rope!" 571Chapter XIII: The Magnet Switch 581Chapter XIV: The Tide of Battle 591Chapter XV: Rewards 599Chapter XVI: The New Ruler 607 Annotations: The Warlord of Mars 617