The Judicial House of Lords: 1876-2009 by Louis Blom-Cooper QCThe Judicial House of Lords: 1876-2009 by Louis Blom-Cooper QC

The Judicial House of Lords: 1876-2009

EditorLouis Blom-Cooper QC, Gavin Drewry, Brice Dickson

Hardcover | September 15, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 1,913 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The House of Lords has served as the highest court in the UK for over 130 years. In 2009 a new UK Supreme Court will take over its judicial functions, closing the doors on one of the most influential legal institutions in the world, and a major chapter in the history of the UK legal system.This volume gathers over 40 leading scholars and practitioners from the UK and beyond to provide a comprehensive history of the House of Lords as a judicial institution, charting its role, working practices, reputation and impact on the law and UK legal system. The book examines the origins of theHouse's judicial work; the different phases in the court's history; the international reputation and influence of the House in the legal profession; the domestic perception of the House outside the law; and the impact of the House on the UK legal tradition and substantive law.The book offers an invaluable overview of the Judicial House of Lords and a major historical record for the UK legal system as it opens the next chapter in its history.
Sir Louis Blom-Cooper is Bencher of the Middle Temple. Gavin Drewry is Professor of Public Administration, Royal Holloway, University of London. Brice Dickson is Professor of International and Comparative Law, Queen's University Belfast
Title:The Judicial House of Lords: 1876-2009Format:HardcoverDimensions:850 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 0.03 inPublished:September 15, 2009Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0199532710

ISBN - 13:9780199532711

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Sir Louis Blom-Cooper QC, Professor Gavin Drewry and Professor Brice Dickson: Editor's ProloguePart A: Origins and Structures1. David Lewis Jones: The judicial role of the House of Lords before 18702. David Steele: The judicial House of Lords: abolition and restoration 1873-18763. Professor Dawn Oliver: The Lord Chancellor as head of the judiciary4. James Vallance White: The Judicial Office5. Professor Kate Malleson: Appointments to the House of Lords: who goes upstairs?6. Lord Hope of Craighead: Law Lords in Parliament7. Sir Louis Blom-Cooper QC: 1966 and all that: the story of the Practice Statement8. Professor Andrew Le Sueur: From Appellate Committee to Supreme CourtPart B: Historical Perspectives9. Professor Patrick Polden: The early period, 1876-191410. Professor Sir David Williams QC: Between the Wars, 1914-194511. Sir Louis Blom-Cooper QC and Professor Gavin Drewry: Towards a system of administrative law: the era of Lord Reid and Lord Wilberforce, 1945-198212. Michael Beloff QC: The 1980s and 1990s13. Professor Brice Dickson: The Bingham court, 2000-2008Part C: Regional and External Perspectives14. Scotland and IrelandLord Brodie: (a) Scotland after 1707Ronan Keane: (b) IrelandProfessor Brice Dickson: (c) Northern Ireland after 192115. Justice Sir Kenneth Keith: The interplay with the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council16. The Old CommonwealthJustice Michael Kirby: (a) Australia and New ZealandJustice Robert Sharpe: (b) CanadaArthur Chaskalson: (c) South AfricaJustice A S Anand: (d) India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka17. Sir Fred Phillips QC: The New Commonwealth18. Professor Tom Zwart: An American perspective19. Professor Laurence Burgorgue-Larsen: A view from Western Europe20. Professor Gavin Drewry and Sir Louis Blom-Cooper QC: The Law Lords in relation to the Court of Appeal for England and Wales21. Views from legal practitionersArthur Marriott QC: (a) Access to justice: a solicitor's viewMark Littman QC: (b) Appellate advocacy: a view from the Bar22. Sir Louis Blom-Cooper QC: Style of judgments23. Michael Blair QC: A view from the City24. Professor Gavin Drewry: A political scientist's viewPart D: Specialist Areas25. Dame Rosalyn Higgins QC: International law26. Sir Francis Jacobs QC and David Anderson QC: European influences27. Professor David Feldman: Human rights28. Professor Brigid Hadfield: Constitutional law29. Professor Paul Craig QC: Administrative law30. Professor John Spencer QC: Criminal law31. Sir Anthony Hooper: 'One golden thread': beyond reasonable doubt in criminal trial32. Professor Robert Stevens: Law of torts33. Professor Eric Barendt: Libel, privacy, and freedom of expression34. Professor Stephen Cretney QC: Family law35. Baroness Hale of Richmond: Equality and discrimination36. Professor Francis Reynolds QC: Commercial law37. Derek Wood QC: Land law38. Sir Robin Jacob: Intellectual property39. Professor John Tiley and Sir Stephen Oliver: Tax lawLord Bingham of Cornhill: Epilogue: A ValedictionAppendices:i) Lords of Appeal in Ordinary from 1876ii) Who succeeded whom?iii) Lord Chancellors from 1876iv) Thumbnail sketches of 110 Lords of Appeal in Ordinary