The Keeper Of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel

The Keeper Of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel

Paperback | July 31, 2012

byJussi Adler-olsenTranslated byLisa Hartford

not yet rated|write a review
The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen''s electrifying Department Q series.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson''s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.49 online
$22.00 list price (save 38%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

The Keeper Of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel

Paperback | July 31, 2012
In stock online Available in stores
$13.49 online $22.00 (save 38%)

From the Publisher

The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw...

Jussi Adler-Olsen lives in Denmark.

other books by Jussi Adler-olsen

The Alphabet House: A Novel
The Alphabet House: A Novel

Paperback|Mar 22 2016

$18.50 online$21.00list price(save 11%)
The Hanging Girl: A Department Q Novel
The Hanging Girl: A Department Q Novel

Paperback|Dec 27 2016

$19.75 online$22.00list price(save 10%)
The Absent One: A Department Q Novel
The Absent One: A Department Q Novel

Paperback|May 7 2013

$13.08 online$18.00list price(save 27%)
see all books by Jussi Adler-olsen
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.3 × 0.9 inPublished:July 31, 2012Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0452297907

ISBN - 13:9780452297906

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch detective story Deputy Detective Superintendent Carl Morch has seen a lot in his 25 years on the job. Upon returning to work after a deadly shooting that left one of his partners dead and another paralysed, Carl is promoted to head of the newly created Department Q which has the objective of solving Copenhagen's cold cases. The first case he examines is that of Merete Lynggaard, a politician who disappeared without a clue five years earlier. With the help of his assist Assad, Carl dives in to the case and finds more than a few loose ends. Carl is a top notch detective but he is tired and worn down. Sitting at his desk with his feet up and newspaper is not a bad way to spend his day at the office. His assistant Assad has different ideas. He wants to get to the cases and prods Carl along. As the case proceeds, we learn that Carl is a stickler for following up every single possible lead even when he figures they won't lead anywhere. This is the type of dogged determination that I want to see in my fictional detectives. Carl's story follows the day after day investigation while Merete's story runs along side, starting on a path more than five years ago and progressing quickly to converge with Carl's present day. I found both Carl and Assad to be very likable characters. Carl's life is far from perfect. This makes him human, he is disgruntled with being shuffled to the basement, but once he starts an investigation he has to carry it through to it's conclusion. He can't skip steps or overlook leads to create an expedient end. Assad is a willing assistant. He want to learn and be helpful, at times pulling Carl along with him. He undoubtedly has many secrets in his past. I want to see both of these men again in future cases. Likewise, I grew to care for Merete, and wanted to see justice for her. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the Department Q series. I was enjoying this book so much, that I ordered a paper copy for my husband. (this book was also published under the title Mercy in some countries) I listened to thePenguin audio book as read by Erik Davis. 15 hours 37 minutes unabridged Erik Davis did an excellent job as reader. He brought these characters to life and his use of accents and Danish pronunciation kept this book in place.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband Couldn't Put it Down! I bought this book for my husband at Christmas based totally on its cover! He couldn't put it down! He read it straight through and couldn't wait for me to buy the next in the series. I recommend this for anyone who likes a book they can't put down!
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great new authour for me! The story is compelling and is almost impossible to put down. What a great plot centering on an abduction 5 years before. The characters are all excellent
Date published: 2014-03-24

Extra Content

Read from the Book

She was going to look after herself. For them she was the woman in the cage, but she was the one who decided how far apart the bars would be. She would think thoughts that opened out onto the world and kept madness at bay. They would never break her. That's what she decided as she lay there on the floor, her shoulder throbbing fiercely and the swelling around her eye forcing it closed. Someday she would get out of here.