The Keeper Of Lost Causes

The Keeper Of Lost Causes

Hardcover | August 23, 2013

byJussi Adler Olsen

not yet rated|write a review
Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One, is Denmark's premier crime writer. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in northern Europe, and he's won just about every Nordic crime-writing award, including the prestigious Glass Key Award-also won by Henning Mankell, Stieg Larsson, and Jo Nesbo. Now, Dutton is thrilled to introduce him to America.

The Keeper of Lost Causes, the first installment of Adler- Olsen's Department Q series, features the deeply flawed chief detective Carl MØrck, who used to be a good homicide detective-one of Copenhagen's best. Then a bullet almost took his life. Two of his colleagues weren't so lucky, and Carl, who didn't draw his weapon, blames himself.

So a promotion is the last thing Carl expects.

But it all becomes clear when he sees his new office in the basement. Carl's been selected to run Department Q, a new special investigations division that turns out to be a department of one. With a stack of Copenhagen's coldest cases to keep him company, Carl's been put out to pasture. So he's as surprised as anyone when a case actually captures his interest. A missing politician vanished without a trace five years earlier. The world assumes she's dead. His colleagues snicker about the time he's wasting. But Carl may have the last laugh, and redeem himself in the process.

Because she isn't dead . . . yet.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.00 online
$30.00 list price
Out of stock online

The Keeper Of Lost Causes

Hardcover | August 23, 2013
Out of stock online Not available in stores
$5.00 online $30.00

From the Publisher

Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One, is Denmark's premier crime writer. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in northern Europe, and he's won just about every Nordic crime-writing award, including the prestigious Glass Key Award-also won by Henning Mankell, Stieg Larsson, and Jo Nesbo. Now, Dutton is thrilled to int...

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's #1 crime writer. This novel has already appeared at the top of bestseller lists in Denmark and Germany, and subsequent entries in the series debuted at #1.

other books by Jussi Adler Olsen

The Hanging Girl: A Department Q Novel
The Hanging Girl: A Department Q Novel

Paperback|Dec 27 2016

$19.75 online$22.00list price(save 10%)
The Alphabet House: A Novel
The Alphabet House: A Novel

Paperback|Mar 22 2016

$18.50 online$21.00list price(save 11%)
Dossier 64
Dossier 64

Mass Market Paperback|Jan 13 2016

$14.95

see all books by Jussi Adler Olsen
Format:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 9.31 × 6.33 × 1.31 inPublished:August 23, 2013Publisher:DUTTON ADULTLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0525952489

ISBN - 13:9780525952480

Look for similar items by category:

Extra Content

Read from the Book

She was going to look after herself. For them she was the woman in the cage, but she was the one who decided how far apart the bars would be. She would think thoughts that opened out onto the world and kept madness at bay. They would never break her. That's what she decided as she lay there on the floor, her shoulder throbbing fiercely and the swelling around her eye forcing it closed. Someday she would get out of here.

Editorial Reviews

"Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction." — Library Journal, (starred review)"The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir." — The Times (London)"The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book." — C.J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind"Gripping storytelling." — The Guardian"Jussi Adler-Olsen tells his stories as wickedly as Dean Koontz and has his detectives work as hard as Stieg Larsson." — Jydske Vestkysten (Denmark)"This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read!" — Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany)"As impressive as it is unnerving." — The Independent"An unusually fine and extremely fascinating thriller, which will keep you breathless till the very last page." — politiken.dk