The Lace Reader: A Novel

Paperback | September 19, 2013

byBrunonia Barry

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Boston to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Chicago to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$2.00 online
$18.99 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family w...

From the Jacket

Every gift has a price . . . every piece of lace has a secret.Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations. Now the disappearance of two women is bringing Towner back home to Sa...

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Brunonia Barry lives in Salem with her husband and their beloved golden retriever, Byzantium.

other books by Brunonia Barry

Map Of True Places
Map Of True Places

Paperback|Apr 4 2012

$5.99 online$16.99list price
The Fifth Petal: A Novel
The Fifth Petal: A Novel

Hardcover|Jan 24 2017

$32.01 online$36.00list price(save 11%)
Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman
Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman

Kobo ebook|May 14 2009

$11.19 online$14.42list price(save 22%)
see all books by Brunonia Barry
Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.38 × 5.63 × 0.98 inPublished:September 19, 2013Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061624772

ISBN - 13:9780061624773

Look for similar items by category:

deals on books

Customer Reviews of The Lace Reader: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible!! One of the worst books ever. I read approximately two books a week; didn't get past page 50. No wonder it was on sale. It's going to goodwill.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On of the best Towner is from a very special line of women who can read fortunes by looking at a piece of lace; in fact she can read minds. But she has fled her Salem home to live across the country in California. But when her Aunt Eva dies, she knows she has to return to Salem to deal with the funeral and her aunt's estate. She also realizes there is a lot of unresolved issues waiting for her there as well. Soon she has entered a surreal world where the town has become a refuge for kooks and tourists. It doesn't help that it is also a refuge for the heartbroken and grief stricken. And she will fit in just fine if she can stop reading everyone's mind and heal herself. This book seemed hard to get into but it was worth the effort.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting read I read this as a project for a group I'm in. I did not know what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed the story.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting read I love this book, a good Saturday afternoon in the hammock book
Date published: 2013-02-02

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Barry’s modern-day story of Towner Whitney, who has the psychic gift to read the future in lace patterns, is complex but darker in subject matter.... The novel’s gripping and shocking conclusion is a testament to Barry’s creativity.”