The Lace Reader: A Novel

Paperback | September 19, 2013

byBrunonia Barry

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Boston to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Chicago to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$2.00 online
$18.99 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family w...

From the Jacket

Every gift has a price . . . every piece of lace has a secret.Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations. Now the disappearance of two women is bringing Towner back home to Sa...

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Brunonia Barry lives in Salem with her husband and their beloved golden retriever, Byzantium.

other books by Brunonia Barry

The Map Of True Places
The Map Of True Places

Paperback|May 25 2010

$31.99

The Fifth Petal: A Novel
The Fifth Petal: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Jan 24 2017

$15.99

Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman
Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman

Kobo ebook|May 14 2009

$11.09 online$14.40list price(save 22%)
see all books by Brunonia Barry
Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.38 × 5.63 × 0.98 inPublished:September 19, 2013Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061624772

ISBN - 13:9780061624773

Look for similar items by category:

deals on books

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Barry’s modern-day story of Towner Whitney, who has the psychic gift to read the future in lace patterns, is complex but darker in subject matter.... The novel’s gripping and shocking conclusion is a testament to Barry’s creativity.”