The Lace Reader: A Novel

Paperback | July 29, 2008 | Large Print

byBrunonia Barry

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Boston to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on">Chicago to <_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.00

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family w...

From the Jacket

Every gift has a price . . . Every piece of lace has a secret . . .My name is Towner Whitney. No, that's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . . Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the ...

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Brunonia Barry lives in Salem with her husband and their beloved golden retriever, Byzantium.

other books by Brunonia Barry

Map Of True Places
Map Of True Places

Paperback|Apr 4 2012

$5.99 online$16.99list price
The Fifth Petal: A Novel
The Fifth Petal: A Novel

Hardcover|Jan 24 2017

$32.01 online$36.00list price(save 11%)
Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman
Die Mondschwimmerin: Roman

Kobo ebook|May 14 2009

$11.19 online$14.42list price(save 22%)
see all books by Brunonia Barry
Format:Paperback | Large PrintDimensions:544 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.09 inPublished:July 29, 2008Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061668265

ISBN - 13:9780061668265

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Lace Reader: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total Disappointment I purchased this book based on the reviews and what was written on the web site. Boy was I disappointed. I did not enjoy this book. I found it confusing, bland,and very disjointed. Confusing to say the least. I read the whole book which if one of my faults, once I start a book I have to finish it. It was an effort but I did it...
Date published: 2014-11-09

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Barry’s modern-day story of Towner Whitney, who has the psychic gift to read the future in lace patterns, is complex but darker in subject matter.... The novel’s gripping and shocking conclusion is a testament to Barry’s creativity.”