The Last Kingdom Series Books 1 and 2: The Last Kingdom, The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series) by Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Series Books 1 and 2: The Last Kingdom, The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series)

byBernard Cornwell

Kobo ebook | September 22, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


BBC’s major TV series THE LAST KINGDOM is based on Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling novels on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. Books 1-2 now available in one eBook collection. The beginning of the tale of Uhtred. Uhtred is born into the aristocracy of 9th Century Northumbria, but orphaned at ten, adopted by a Dane and taught the Viking ways. Yet Uhtred’s fate is indissolubly bound up with Alfred, King of Wessex, who rules over the last English kingdom when the Danes have overrun Northumbria, Mercia and East Anglia. So ends The Last Kingdom. The Pale Horseman takes place right afterwards in the fateful year in which the Danes capture Alfred’s kingdom and drive him as a fugitive into the marshes of Athelney. It seems that Wessex, and England, are destroyed, but Alfred is determined to make one desperate gamble that might save his kingdom. The Lords of the North sees Uhtred, having helped Alfred secure Wessex an independent Saxon kingdom, returns north to find his stepsister. Instead he discovers chaos, civil war and treachery in Northumbria. He takes the side of Guthred, once a slave and now a man who would be king, and in return expects Guthred’s help in capturing Dunholm, the lair of the dark Viking lord, Kjartan.

Title:The Last Kingdom Series Books 1 and 2: The Last Kingdom, The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:September 22, 2015Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008159645

ISBN - 13:9780008159641

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't wait to read the rest of the series! I love historical fiction and this one did not disappoint. If you're interested in Alfred the great and the Danes around that time period I think you'll really enjoy this one.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like the tv series then you'll love the books I watched the tv show on Netflix and didn't realize it was a book series. I usually read the series first then watch the show.. which is what you should do! After reading this first book I went back and watched the first few episodes of the show and loved it even more. I just ordered the next two books.. I cant seem to put them down.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another masterpiece Bernard Cornwell is one of my very favourite authors. His Warlord Chronicles are in the top ten of my favourite books/series. I was somewhat disappointed with a few of his more recent books and so had not picked one up in ages. I decided it was time to give him a chance to redeem himself. He passed with flying colours with The Last Kingdom. He paints a picture of such vivid clarity that you can see every character and location and action with even the most modest of imaginations. As he did with my beloved Derfel in The Warlord Chronicles, Bernard Cornwell has created in Uhtred a character whose every emotion you can feel as your own. Something I especially noticed about this book, and like, is a lack of a good sides and bad side that is typical of so many books about war and warriors. Uhtred has loyalties to both side and rather than being confused, you are made to understand his choices perfectly and like him all the more for them. The writing is simple and yet flows in such way that makes it very much like having a story told to you by the actual character. Uhtred voice is real. At no point are you pulled out of the story by a misplaced word or phrase that you doubt the narrator would use. It's a subtly that I find is difficult to achieve. I can't wait to move onto the next book in the series, The Pale Horseman.
Date published: 2009-04-12