The Last Telegram: A Novel of What Saves US

Paperback | March 26, 2013

byLiz Trenow

not yet rated|write a review
"A book to savor."-Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine We all make mistakes. Some we can fix. But what happens when we can't? Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors ofthe silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time. In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness. "Sparked my interest from the start? charming."-Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI "This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society , and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

"A book to savor."-Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine We all make mistakes. Some we can fix. But what happens when we can't? Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds her...

Liz Trenow is a former BBC and newspaper journalist, now working freelance. She is also the author of The Last Telegram.

other books by Liz Trenow

The Hidden Thread: A Novel
The Hidden Thread: A Novel

Paperback|May 1 2017

$22.50

The Forgotten Seamstress
The Forgotten Seamstress

Paperback|May 8 2014

$17.91 online$20.99list price(save 14%)
Das Kastanienhaus: Roman
Das Kastanienhaus: Roman

Kobo ebook|Jul 15 2013

$11.19 online$14.42list price(save 22%)
see all books by Liz Trenow
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.7 × 1.1 inPublished:March 26, 2013Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1402279450

ISBN - 13:9781402279454

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Last Telegram: A Novel of What Saves US

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"This book will easily appeal to fans of 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society' and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books "Liz Trenow's The Last Telegram gives you an authentic feel of the stresses that must have dominated civilian life in England during World War II...while the reader will learn a lot about silk, it is the interconnected relationships between the characters that really engage the reader." - Nicola Rooney, Nicola's Books, Ann Arbor, MI "Sparked my interest right from the start... .charming."---Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs MI