The Light Streamed Beneath It: A Memoir Of Grief And Celebration

October 12, 2021|
The Light Streamed Beneath It: A Memoir Of Grief And Celebration by Shawn Hitchins
$23.95
Paperback
Earn 120 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Pre-order online.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

For readers of Suleika Jaouad''s Between Two Kingdoms

A modern gay memoir exploring love, death, pain, and community that will resonate long after the last page.

A lifetime of finding punchlines in his heartache comes to a shuddering stop when comedian and writer Shawn Hitchins loses two great loves, five months apart, to sudden death. In this deeply poignant memoir that combines sober self-portrait with tender elegy, Hitchins explores the messiness of being alive: the longing and desire, scorching-earth anger, raw grief - and the pathway of healing he discovers when he lets his heart remain open.

Never without an edge of self-awareness, The Light Streamed Beneath It invites the reader into Hitchins''s world as he reckons with his past and stays painfully in the present. As he builds an embodied future, he confronts the stories that have shaped him, sets aside his ambition, and seeks connection in what he used to deflect with laughter - therapy, community and chosen family, movement, spirituality, and an awareness of death''s ever-presence.

A heartrending and hope-filled story of resilience in the wake of death, The Light Streamed Beneath It joyfully affirms that life is essentially good, as Hitchins weaves his tale full of tenacious spirit, humor, kindness, and grit through life''s most unforgiving challenges.

Shawn Hitchins is the author of A Brief History of Oversharing (ECW, 2017). His one-man show Ginger Nation toured extensively before being filmed in concert. Hitchins is an award-winning entertainer, writer, personality, and creator of live performance. Based in Toronto, Ontario, he splits himself between Eastern and Pacific time zones...
Loading
Title:The Light Streamed Beneath It: A Memoir Of Grief And Celebration
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:240 pages, 8.25 X 5.25 X 0.68 in
Shipping dimensions:240 pages, 8.25 X 5.25 X 0.68 in
Published:October 12, 2021
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781770415614

Recently Viewed
|