The Lion Wakes (The Kingdom Series) by Robert Low

The Lion Wakes (The Kingdom Series)

byRobert Low

Kobo ebook | April 14, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The first novel in The Kingdom Series as Robert Low moves from the Vikings to the making of Scotland. It is 1296 and Scotland is in turmoil. The old King, Alexander III, has died after falling off his horse one dark and stormy night. Scotland’s future is in peril. Edward I of England, desperate to keep control of his northern borders, arranges for John Baliol, a weak man who Edward knows he can manipulate, to take leadership of Scotland. But unrest is rife and many are determined to throw off the shackles of England. Among those men is Robert the Bruce, darkly handsome, young, angry and obsessed by his desire to win Scotland's throne. He will fight for the freedom of the Scots until the end. But there are many rival factions and the English are a strong and fearsome opponent. The Lion Wakes culminates in the Battle of Falkirk which proves to be the beginning of a rivalry that will last for decades…

Title:The Lion Wakes (The Kingdom Series)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:April 14, 2011Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007337930

ISBN - 13:9780007337934

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Lion Wakes Excellent read.i have read several books relating to this period in Scottish history and this book by Robert Low gives an intriguing and enjoyable perspective of the life and times of the main characters such as Robert Bruce, Buchanan and William Wallace.
Date published: 2014-05-22