The Lost Child: A Novel

June 21, 2016|
The Lost Child: A Novel by Caryl Phillips
$30.00
Paperback
Earn 150 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Winner of the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award

A gripping and inventive reimagining of Wuthering Heights, by award-winning author Caryl Phillips

In the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and J. M. Coetzee’s Foe, Caryl Phillips revisits Emily Brontë’s masterpiece Wuthering Heights as a lyrical tale of orphans and outcasts, absence and hope. A sweeping novel spanning generations, The Lost Child tells the story of young Heathcliff’s life before Mr. Earnshaw brought him home to his family; the Brontë sisters and their wayward brother, Branwell; Monica, whose father forces her to choose between her family and the foreigner she loves; and a boy’s disappearance into the wildness of the moors and the brother he leaves behind.

Phillips deftly spins these disparate lives—bound by the past and struggling to liberate themselves from it—into a stunning literary work. Phillips has been called “in a league with Toni Morrison and V. S. Naipaul” (Donna Seaman, Booklist), and his work is charged with the complexities of migration, alienation, and displacement. Haunting and heartbreaking, The Lost Child transforms a classic into a profound story that is singularly its own.

Caryl Phillips is the author of numerous works of fiction and nonfiction including Dancing in the Dark,Crossing the River, and Color Me English. His novel A Distant Shore won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and his other awards include a Lannan Foundation Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and Britain's oldest literary award the James Ta...
Loading
Title:The Lost Child: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:272 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.61 in
Shipping dimensions:272 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.61 in
Published:June 21, 2016
Publisher:Picador
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781250094650

Recently Viewed
|