The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

Hardcover | February 7, 2017

byStephanie Morrill

not yet rated|write a review

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second tho...

Stephanie Morrill lives in Overland Park, Kansas, with her husband and three kids. She is the author of The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series, Go Teen Writers: How to Turn Your First Draft Into a Published Book, and the Ellie Sweet series. She enjoys encouraging and teaching teen writers on her blog, GoTeenWriters.com. To connect with ...

other books by Stephanie Morrill

Me, Just Different (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #1)
Me, Just Different (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book...

Kobo ebook|Jul 1 2009

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)
So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)

Kobo ebook|Jul 1 2010

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
see all books by Stephanie Morrill
Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 9.41 × 7.24 × 0.98 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310758386

ISBN - 13:9780310758389

Customer Reviews of The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

In The Lost Girl of Astor Street, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail's best friend, Lydia, goes missing. Piper is determined to find out what happened to her friend. Piper has a number of suspects; was it the chauffeur on whom Lydia had a crush? Or how about the creepy father of the little boy she was the nanny for? Could it have been Lydia's own father who didn't want the secret of her epilepsy to get out and ruin his practice? And let's not forget that 1924 Chicago is run by the opposing mafias, Irish and Italian, whom Piper's father represents as a criminal defense attorney. Was Lydia even the original target? Piper is going to solve this case and bring justice for her friend, no matter what the cost. (5 star review by Christina Boswell)On the back cover of this book, one author says, "If Veronica Mars met the Roaring Twenties, you'd end up with The Lost Girl of Astor Street." I cannot think of a more accurate description. Piper is very similar to Veronica Mars, who happens to be one of my favorites, so I very much enjoyed this book. Piper is easy to connect with as a young woman who can't just sit around and do nothing while her best friend is missing, and she struggles to conform to society's ideals. Ms. Morrill did a wonderful job of making great characters, of thoroughly researching the setting, and of still writing a worthwhile mystery. I personally loved that there was nothing inappropriate, no foul language, and no sex scenes. Just a good old-fashioned mystery that is a fun read. If you like Veronica Mars, you will enjoy this book, just like I did.