The Lost Girl Of Astor Street by Stephanie MorrillThe Lost Girl Of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill

The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

byStephanie Morrill

Hardcover | February 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.21 online 
$21.99 list price
Earn 106 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Stephanie Morrill lives in Overland Park, Kansas, with her husband and three kids. She is the author of The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series, Go Teen Writers: How to Turn Your First Draft Into a Published Book, and the Ellie Sweet series. She enjoys encouraging and teaching teen writers on her blog, GoTeenWriters.com. To connect with ...
Out with the In Crowd (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #2)
Out with the In Crowd (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #2)

by Stephanie Morrill

$6.29$6.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Me, Just Different (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #1)
Me, Just Different (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #1)

by Stephanie Morrill

$6.29$6.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)
So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)

by Stephanie Morrill

$6.29$6.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Lost Girl Of Astor StreetFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.7 × 5.9 × 1.18 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310758386

ISBN - 13:9780310758389

Customer Reviews of The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew meets Veronica Mars in the 1920s Nancy Drew meets Veronica Mars in this astounding Young Adult Mystery that can certainly be enjoyed by readers who have passed their teen years. Love the mix of historical (roaring twenties in Chicago) and mystery. And I'm actually surprising myself by saying I also loved the first person, present tense point of view which is usually my least favourite POV. But it works here, catapulting the reader into Piper's heart and mind as she navigates a complicated web of intrigue and secrets. I love her spunk! And her fierce loyalty and dogged determination. She just doesn't quit, much to the exasperation (and reluctant admiration) of a certain young police detective. But Piper's stubbornness leads to danger as she exposes secrets and follows clues that lead her into the seedy side of town. And if the heart-stopping suspense doesn't keep you frantically turning pages, the sweet romance certainly will. Praying this is the first of many cases for this new, intrepid female detective.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Young adult historical mystery novel! The Lost Girl of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill is set in Chicago, Illinois in 1924. Piper Caroline Sail is eighteen years old and best friends with Lydia. Lydia has been having seizures (epilepsy), but her parents (especially her doctor father) have been telling her they are fainting spells. Piper has been forbidden from telling Lydia the truth (by Lydia’s parents). Late one afternoon Lydia stops by to tell Piper that her parents are sending her away to the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota. Lydia does not wish to leave because she is in love with their chauffer, Matthew. Lydia takes leave of Piper and heads down the street to the Barrow’s. The next day Piper is approached outside Presley’s School for Girls by two detectives. Lydia never returned home the previous evening and has been reported missing. Piper is very worried about her best friend and will do whatever it takes to find her. Piper finds that she has been leading a sheltered life on Astor Street. With the help of Detective Mariano Cassano and Walter Thatcher (the housekeeper’s son and friend), Piper starts asking questions and following up on leads. Piper will not stop until she finds out what happened to Lydia even if it means risking her life. The Lost Girl of Astor Street is told from Piper’s point-of-view. Despite Piper being eighteen, she is immature (for 1924). The way the novel is written, Piper comes across as a young adolescent at times (and then a mature woman who is thinking about marriage the next). The Lost Girl of Astor Street might sound like an adult novel, but it is geared towards young adults (did not discover this until I was reading it). I found the book to be nicely written and have a good pace (nice flow). I liked the characters (for the most part) and the setting (great time period). It was interesting how the author tied in criminal elements (the gangs) of Chicago into the storyline. I give The Lost Girl of Astor Street 3.5 out of 5 stars. I appreciated the mystery in the novel. It comes across as complicated, but the solution is simple. Piper could be a bit tenacious at times (determined, pushy). Piper cannot seem to think about anything except her lost friend (and Detective Cassano after spending time with him). Piper’s crying got on my nerves after the third time. She is supposed to be this modern woman (who is determined and stands up for what she believes in), but then she breaks down in tears frequently. Piper was a very contradictory character. The Lost Girl of Astor Street could use some fine tuning (it has such potential). I think tweens/teens will enjoy The Lost Girl of Astor Street.
Date published: 2017-01-19

Editorial Reviews

In The Lost Girl of Astor Street, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail's best friend, Lydia, goes missing. Piper is determined to find out what happened to her friend. Piper has a number of suspects; was it the chauffeur on whom Lydia had a crush? Or how about the creepy father of the little boy she was the nanny for? Could it have been Lydia's own father who didn't want the secret of her epilepsy to get out and ruin his practice? And let's not forget that 1924 Chicago is run by the opposing mafias, Irish and Italian, whom Piper's father represents as a criminal defense attorney. Was Lydia even the original target? Piper is going to solve this case and bring justice for her friend, no matter what the cost. (5 star review by Christina Boswell)On the back cover of this book, one author says, "If Veronica Mars met the Roaring Twenties, you'd end up with The Lost Girl of Astor Street." I cannot think of a more accurate description. Piper is very similar to Veronica Mars, who happens to be one of my favorites, so I very much enjoyed this book. Piper is easy to connect with as a young woman who can't just sit around and do nothing while her best friend is missing, and she struggles to conform to society's ideals. Ms. Morrill did a wonderful job of making great characters, of thoroughly researching the setting, and of still writing a worthwhile mystery. I personally loved that there was nothing inappropriate, no foul language, and no sex scenes. Just a good old-fashioned mystery that is a fun read. If you like Veronica Mars, you will enjoy this book, just like I did.