The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

Hardcover | February 7, 2017

byStephanie Morrill

not yet rated|write a review

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second tho...

Stephanie Morrill lives in Overland Park, Kansas, with her husband and three kids. She is the author of The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series, Go Teen Writers: How to Turn Your First Draft Into a Published Book, and the Ellie Sweet series. She enjoys encouraging and teaching teen writers on her blog, GoTeenWriters.com. To connect with ...

other books by Stephanie Morrill

So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)
So Over It (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #3)

Kobo ebook|Jul 1 2010

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
Out with the In Crowd (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Book #2)
Out with the In Crowd (The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt B...

Kobo ebook|Jan 1 2010

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
see all books by Stephanie Morrill
Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.7 × 5.9 × 1.18 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310758386

ISBN - 13:9780310758389

Customer Reviews of The Lost Girl Of Astor Street

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Combining the fascinating setting of the Roaring '20s with a smart, savvy heroine, Morrill has hit the perfect note with this captivating story. Piper will particularly appeal to young adult fans, but there is plenty of substance here to entrance readers of all ages. The tale is fast-paced and entertaining without being overly melodramatic. Piper's impetuousness gets her involved in some potentially inappropriate situations, particularly for the time period. Fortunately, the steadying influence of her male friends keep her from getting too far off track. 4 StarsEighteen-year-old Piper Sail is looking forward to graduating and getting on with her life. She's worried about her friend Lydia's health problems, and becomes even more concerned when Lydia disappears without a trace. Piper, along with young policeman Mariano Cassano, begins to investigate what might have happened to Lydia and tries to locaCombining the fascinating setting of the Roaring '20s with a smart, savvy heroine, Morrill has hit the perfect note with this captivating story. Piper will particularly appeal to young adult fans, but there is plenty of substance here to entrance readers of all ages. The tale is fast-paced and entertaining without being overly melodramatic. Piper's impetuousness gets her involved in some potentially inappropriate situations, particularly for the time period. Fortunately, the steadying influence of her male friends keep her from getting too far off track.Eighteen-year-old Piper Sail is looking forward to graduating and getting on with her life. She's worried about her friend Lydia's health problems, and becomes even more concerned when Lydia disappears without a trace. Piper, along with young policeman Mariano Cassano, begins to investigate what might have happened to Lydia and tries to locate her. The more they look into the situation, the more they see the seedier parts of Chicago. This makes Piper fear for her friend's life, and maybe a bit for her own as well.