The Love Letters Of Abelard And Lily by Laura CreedleThe Love Letters Of Abelard And Lily by Laura Creedle

The Love Letters Of Abelard And Lily

byLaura Creedle

Hardcover | December 26, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.08 online 
$24.99 list price save 7%
Earn 115 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

When Lily Michaels-Ryan ditches her ADHD meds and lands in detention with Abelard, she's intrigued-he seems thirty seconds behind, while she feels thirty seconds ahead. It doesn't hurt that he's brilliant and beautiful. When Abelard posts a quote from The Letters of Abelard and Heloise online, their mutual affinity for ancient love letters connects them. The two fall for each other. Hard. But is it enough to bridge their differences in person? This hilarious, heartbreaking story of human connection between two neurodivergent teens is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park and creates characters that will stay with you long after you finish reading.
Laura Creedle lives in Austin, TX, and writes about her experiences as an ADHD writer at www.lauracreedle.com. The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily is her debut novel.
Loading
Title:The Love Letters Of Abelard And LilyFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.15 inPublished:December 26, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544932056

ISBN - 13:9780544932050

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Read But May Be Controversial This was a very interesting, thought provoking, and emotional read. There was much more depth than I expected and I really liked that because it made the story seem more raw and real. In all elements with this novel it seemed similar to a John Green novel. That isn't an insult AT ALL. John Green writes deep, emotional novels with complex characters and that was exactly what this novel also had. Both of the main characters are struggling with their own personal dilemmas while also trying to be there for each other. I am being vague here (as always) because I think it's best to go into this story (any story, really) blind. I think there are both characteristics that readers will identify with these main characters as well as characteristics that readers will not relate to at all. Some of the characteristics/struggles that the main characters had I did not personally relate to but effected me emotionally and increased my knowledge towards what people may go through everyday. It definitely made me think. The ending, I am not sure about. Part of me liked it and part of me is unsure. Was it left open for a sequel? Or was it left open so readers could question and interpret their own ending. I also am apprehensive regarding the "solution" that Lily is facing. I do not know how realistic it is in our reality as well as it has me question the message that is being sent. The majority of the novel feels like it's a message that everyone is unique with their own personal assets (in accompaniment with their struggles). However, this "solution" almost promotes the opposite idea and that an individual can be "cured". I am interested to read other opinions on this as well as the opinions of those affected by disabilities. Overall, I did really enjoy this novel. It made me feel and it made me think. The one thing holding me back from fully supporting this novel was the introduction of what I felt was a "solution". That idea kind of makes me uncomfortable with the message that it could be sending. Aside from that, it was a very good read. ***Thank you to Goodreads as well as the author and publisher for supplying me with this novel via a giveaway***
Date published: 2017-12-13

Editorial Reviews

Entertaining, thought-provoking, and unsettling-in a good way." - Kirkus " Creedle's debut novel is rich and thoughtful? " - Booklist " Readers will be moved by the sacrifices the teens make for each other, and the open-ended conclusion invites speculation while providing reassurance that the bonds formed between these characters won't easily be broken." - Publishers Weekly "A thought-provoking story to fill that empty space on YA shelves for tales of realistic fiction, romance, and humor." - School Library Journal "Creedle crafts Lily and Abelard's story with canny insight? Readers will fall in love with their love." - BCCB "