The Luck of the Horseman by Bill GallaherThe Luck of the Horseman by Bill Gallaher

The Luck of the Horseman

byBill Gallaher

Paperback | October 1, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 50 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


A follow-up to The Frog Lake Massacre, The Luck of the Horseman is a cleverly written ride from the days of the Wild West. The story begins ten years after the Frog Lake massacre. Jack Strong is doing a poor job of dealing with a devastating personal tragedy. He reconnects with Sam Steele, an old acquaintance and police officer, to assist in a hunt for a man wanted for murder. During the hunt, Jack meets a roaming cowboy named Jim Spencer. Soon Jack and Jim find themselves risking a challenging cattle drive over the Chilkat Pass to Dawson City, where the Klondike gold rush is in full swing.

The Luck of the Horseman is a tale of friendship, and war, and of love lost and love found. It is the second part of a three-part story that chronicles the life of Jack Strong, from the Frog Lake massacre of 1885 and subsequent hunt for the Cree chief Big Bear, through the Anglo-Boer War, to the First World War and the Boxcar Rebellion of 1935.

Bill Gallaher is a well-known singer and songwriter who has also worked as an air-traffic controller and taught social studies. He is the author of The Frog Lake Massacre;  The Promise: Love, Loyalty and the Lure of Gold; The Journey: The Overlanders’ Quest for Gold; A Man Called Moses: The Curious Life of Wellington Delaney Moses; and...
Title:The Luck of the HorsemanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:264 pages, 7.5 × 5.5 × 0.69 inPublished:October 1, 2010Publisher:TouchWood EditionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1926741102

ISBN - 13:9781926741109

Look for similar items by category: