The Lure

Paperback | June 16, 2015

byLynne Ewing

not yet rated|write a review

From bestselling author Lynne Ewing comes a gritty, sexy novel perfect for fans of books like Perfect Chemistry—about a teen forced to become a "lure," a beautiful girl used by her street gang to seduce and entrap rival gang members.

The Lure tells the story of fifteen-year-old Blaise Montgomery, who lives on the dangerous outskirts of Washington, DC, where a stray bullet can steal a life on the way to school and death lurks around every corner. Drugs and violence are the only ways to survive, so Blaise and her friends turn to gangs for safety, money, and love. And when Blaise is accepted into one of the toughest gangs in the city, she's finally part of a crew. A family.

But as Blaise is put in increasingly dangerous situations, particularly as her gang's newest lure, she begins to see there's more to lose than she ever realized. Should Blaise continue to follow the only path she's ever known, or cut and run?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From bestselling author Lynne Ewing comes a gritty, sexy novel perfect for fans of books like Perfect Chemistry—about a teen forced to become a "lure," a beautiful girl used by her street gang to seduce and entrap rival gang members.The Lure tells the story of fifteen-year-old Blaise Montgomery, who lives on the dangerous outskirts of ...

From the Jacket

Fifteen-year-old Blaise lives in the gritty outskirts of Washington, DC, where drugs and violence are the only way to survive. When Blaise is invited to join Core 9, one of the most infamous gangs—promising safety, money, and love—she jumps at the chance.Now Blaise is finally part of a crew. A family.But things only get more dangerous ...

Bestselling author Lynne Ewing began writing as a way to unwind from her job with the Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services. She is the author ofDrive-By, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers and a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age;Party Girl, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Read...

other books by Lynne Ewing

Sisters of Isis Volume 1
Sisters of Isis Volume 1

Kobo ebook|Dec 13 2011

$8.99

Daughters of the Moon: Volume Two
Daughters of the Moon: Volume Two

Kobo ebook|Apr 7 2011

$8.99

Daughters of the Moon: Volume One
Daughters of the Moon: Volume One

Kobo ebook|Feb 19 2010

$8.99

see all books by Lynne Ewing
Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.65 inPublished:June 16, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062206893

ISBN - 13:9780062206893

Customer Reviews of The Lure

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it. Blaise is such a cool name. Like, I am slightly jealous of her name. Anyway, Blaise Montgomery lives just outside of Washington D.C, and it's a hard life. Her grandma works two jobs, and barely spends any money because she tries to put it towards Blaise's college fund. In desperate need of a family and money, Blaise takes up an offer to be beaten into Core 9, the most notorious gang in her town. Her best friends Rico and Satch warn her against it, and they had reason to. A little while after, Trek, the leader of the gang, asks Blaise to dress in provocative clothes and lure other gang members to their impending doom. All the money and power he offers her sways Blaise's decision, and she agrees. Will Blaise regret this decision-and possibly pay with her life? When I opened to the first page, I was a bit wary. I've never read a book like this. At first, the read was very tedious, and I would have to force myself to focus on the book. Then, things started picking up. I liked Blaise as a character, although I couldn't really relate to her. I mean, if someone gave me the chance to make money by becoming a "lure" like Blaise had, I would've gave a very firm "No" and then run for my life. I can say that I didn't like Rico. He was a bit too explosive and impulsive for my cautious, thirteen year old self. The ending hurt me. It was unexpected, but it was expected. It's like a tiny part of your brain was like Hey! This is totally going to happen. And you brush the idea aside. 50 pages later, said thing happens and you get surprised, but not entirely. I hope that made sense. I was trying to describe it without spoiling it. Anyway, the ending was well written, and it made me kind of happy to read such a good ending to such a good book. Recommended to teens 13-17, The Lure has definitely earned a place on my bookshelf.
Date published: 2014-08-04

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A fast-paced adrenaline-rush.”