The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother And Me: An Aristocratic Family, A High-society Scandal And An Extraordinary Legacy by Sofka ZinovieffThe Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother And Me: An Aristocratic Family, A High-society Scandal And An Extraordinary Legacy by Sofka Zinovieff

The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother And Me: An Aristocratic Family, A High-society Scandal…

bySofka Zinovieff

Hardcover | March 31, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$43.50

Earn 218 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

This beguiling tale of a scandalous ménage à trois among England’s upper classes is a high society love story that combines memoir and biography into a fascinating, heady read in the vein of The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage.

Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff’s grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a beautiful socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man—Gerald, Lord Berners—for more than a decade.

Stout, eccentric, and significantly older, Gerald was a well-known composer, and at home among scholars. He also owned one of Britain’s loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House in Oxfordshire. The two made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable ménage à trois.

In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy illustrated with dozens of photographs, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage. Who was Gerald, and what brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof? Why did Jennifer marry Robert? Piecing together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality, she finally allows old ghosts to rest.

Sofka Zinovieff was born in London in 1961. She studied social anthropology at Cambridge and is the author of three previous books—Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens;Red Princess: A Revolutionary Life; andThe House on Paradise Street. She lives with her husband and daughters at Faringdon.
Loading
Title:The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother And Me: An Aristocratic Family, A High-society Scandal…Format:HardcoverDimensions:448 pages, 9 × 7 × 1.34 inPublished:March 31, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062338943

ISBN - 13:9780062338945

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A thorough…look into a long lost world.”