The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor by Megan Mckinney

The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

byMegan Mckinney

Hardcover | October 11, 2011

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.14 online 
$34.99 list price save 11%
Earn 156 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" —Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World

In the vein of Alan Brinkley's The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham's Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family—a riveting true story of the country’s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.

About The Author

Megan McKinney is an expert on historic Chicago families. She has written forTown & Country,TV Guide,Opera Newsand thePhiladelphia Inquirer. She lives in Chicago.

Details & Specs

Title:The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent SplendorFormat:HardcoverDimensions:464 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.41 inPublished:October 11, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061782238

ISBN - 13:9780061782237

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“This portrait of a storied newspaper dynasty packs a powerful punch.  . . . Not only a compulsively readable collective biography but also an overview of the rapid evolution of the American newspaper industry during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries.”