The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

Hardcover | October 11, 2011

byMegan Mckinney

not yet rated|write a review
"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" —Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World

In the vein of Alan Brinkley's The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham's Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family—a riveting true story of the country’s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.14 online
$34.99 list price (save 11%)
Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" —Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet WorldIn the vein of Alan Brin...

From the Jacket

The riveting story of the country’s first media dynasty, the Medills of Chicago, whose power and influence shaped the story of America and American journalism for four generations When thirty-two-year-old former lawyer Joseph Medill bought a controlling stake in the bankrupt Chicago Daily Tribune in 1855, he had no way of foreseeing th...

Megan McKinney is an expert on historic Chicago families. She has written forTown & Country,TV Guide,Opera Newsand thePhiladelphia Inquirer. She lives in Chicago.
Format:HardcoverDimensions:464 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.41 inPublished:October 11, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061782238

ISBN - 13:9780061782237

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“This portrait of a storied newspaper dynasty packs a powerful punch.  . . . Not only a compulsively readable collective biography but also an overview of the rapid evolution of the American newspaper industry during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries.”