The Marquise Of O And Other Stories by Heinrich von KleistThe Marquise Of O And Other Stories by Heinrich von Kleist

The Marquise Of O And Other Stories

byHeinrich von KleistTranslated byDavid Luke, Nigel Reeves

Paperback | September 28, 1978

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.43 online 
$23.00 list price save 19%
Earn 92 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The late stories by an influential writer of singular talent

Between 1799, when he left the Prussian Army, and his suicide in 1811, Kleist developed into a writer of unprecedented and tragically isolated genius. This collection of works from the last period of his life also includes 'The Earthquake in Chile,' 'Michael Kohlhaas,' 'The Beggarwoman of Locarno,' 'St. Cecilia or The Power of Music,' 'The Betrothal in Santo Domingo,' 'The Foundling,' and 'The Duel.'

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
David Luke was born in 1921 and is Tutor in German at Christ Church, Oxford. He has published articles and essays on German literature and various prose and verse translations, including Goethe’s Selected Verse (1964) for the Penguin Poets, Kleist’s The Marquise of O and Other Stories (1978) for the Penguin Classics, Thomas Mann’s Ton...
Title:The Marquise Of O And Other StoriesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 7.8 × 5.1 × 0.8 inPublished:September 28, 1978Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140443592

ISBN - 13:9780140443592


Table of Contents

The Marquise of O and Other StoriesIntroduction

The Earthquake in Chile
The Marquise of O—
Michael Kohlhaas
The Beggarwoman of Locarno
St. Cecilia or the Power of Music
The Betrothal in Santo Domingo
The Foundling
The Duel

From Our Editors

Heinrich Von Kleist became a writer of unique and tragically lonely genius between leaving the Prussian Army in 1799 and committing suicide in 1811. Kleist struggled against the German Enlightenment, incapable of accepting his day’s idealistic humanism, viewing human nature as confusing, ambiguous and irrational. The Marquise of O and Other Stories collects tales of poignant separation and suffering including “The Marquise of O” where a woman is impregnated without her awareness and “The Earthquake in Chile” which vividly depicts unbearable pain and anguish. Kleist’s loss of faith, his vulnerability, instability, strong sense of evil and rejection of established values makes his work relevant today.