The Me I Meant To Be by Sophie JordanThe Me I Meant To Be by Sophie Jordan

The Me I Meant To Be

bySophie Jordan

Hardcover | January 1, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.52 online 
$24.99 list price save 9%
Earn 113 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about


G irl C ode: Never date a friend's ex.

Willa Evans has no intention of breaking the code. So what if she's always secretly loved her next-door neighbor Zach? As her best friend's boyfriend, he was always off-limits and it needs to stay that way, even though they just broke up. Even though every time she turns around he's there, tempting her?

No keeping secrets from your bestie .

Flor Hidalgo has a lot on her plate: her breakup with Zach, her dad's new dating life, and her struggling grades. So why can't she stop thinking about her hot, know-it-all tutor? At least she's got Willa, her constant in the chaos.

Breaking the code breaks friendships .

Two friends find themselves tempted by love that defies the rules in this steamy romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Simone Elkeles.
Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's a New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author of over thirty novels. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overlo...
Loading
Title:The Me I Meant To BeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 1.11 × 1.11 × 0.98 inPublished:January 1, 2019Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1328977064

ISBN - 13:9781328977069

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Two Cute Romances 3.5 Stars The Me I Meant to Be read like two love stories with some crossovers here and there. I liked that the book touched on a lot of possible teen issues but I wish they were more deeply explored. The book wasn't so much about friendship but seeing two different relationships play out. From a romance point of view I really enjoyed The Me I Meant to Be. But from a friendship viewpoint the story left a lot to be desired. Willa and Flor are best friends but they hardly had any scenes together. The ones where they were together barely lasted a few pages. Their physical interactions were quite minimal. Even though they were constantly on each other's minds I felt like their bff status was more in proclamation than anything else. This made their ultimate confrontation lacking in conviction. Having read Sophie Jordan's other works I knew she could write a tension-worthy romance. I got two in The Me I Meant to Be. Suppressed feelings and animosity made for some scandalicious and butterfly-inducing story. Both Willa and Zach and Flor and Grayson were every bit as swoony as I could ask for. I love how the two relationships played out. The Girl Codes at the beginning of each chapter were sensible however, these rules weren't very present in the story itself. I can tell they related to what was happening in the chapters but I wish they were better expanded on in the actual story. The Me I Meant to Be would also be a stronger book if the other issues in the story were more fully explored. I love that they were in the story but a lot of times they felt brushed over and even not resolved or too easily cleared up. Despite my mixed feelings for some things in The Me I Meant to Be I really liked the romances. The story is a quick one and not too serious.
Date published: 2019-01-18

Editorial Reviews

Full of steamy kisses and heartfelt moments, The Me I Meant to Be explores romantic relationships, but more importantly the difficult balance of the highs and lows of friendship as we figure out who we really are meant to be."-Katie McGarry, author of Pushing the Limits and Only a Breath Apart "A funny, heartfelt, spot-on look at girl power and the way female friendship helps see us through the tough stuff and celebrate the awesome. With darn good romance in the mix too."-Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door and The Boy Most Likely To "A breezy, satisfying romp for genre fans." - Booklist " Two love stories for the price of one." - Kirkus "