The Memory Thief by Lauren MansyThe Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy

The Memory Thief

byLauren Mansy

Hardcover | October 1, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.99

Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

It’s always a risk to play with memories, when you can’t help but sink into a sea of others’ wishes, hopes, and dreams … but if losing myself means saving my mother, isn’t it worth it?

In the city of Craewick, memories reign. The power-obsessed ruler of the city, Madame, has cultivated a society in which memories are currency, citizens are divided by ability, and Gifted individuals can take memories from others through touch as they please.

Seventeen-year-old Etta Lark is desperate to live outside of the corrupt culture, but she grapples with the guilt of an accident that has left her mother bedridden in the city’s asylum. When Madame threatens to put her mother up for auction, a Craewick practice in which a “criminal’s” memories are sold to the highest bidder before being killed, Etta will do whatever it takes to save her. Even if it means rejoining the Shadows, the rebel group she swore off in the wake of the accident years earlier.

To rescue her mother, Etta must prove her allegiance to the Shadows by stealing a memorized map of the Maze, a formidable prison created by the bloodthirsty ruler of a neighboring Realm. Etta faces startling attacks, unexpected romance, and above all, her own past as she uncovers a conspiracy that challenges everything she knew about herself and the world around her.

In a place where nothing is what it seems, can Etta ever become more than a memory thief?

The Memory Thief:

  • Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard
  • Brings readers on an unforgettable journey during which Etta must learn—often the hard way—just what it will take to save her city and her mother
  • Is a clean, coming of age YA fantasy by up-and-coming author Lauren Mansy
Lauren Mansy grew up in the Chicago area, where she spent years working with youth of all ages, from young children to high schoolers. When she's not writing, Lauren loves to travel, spend time with her family, and explore the city to find the best deep dish pizza. The Memory Thief, which was inspired by Lauren's own journey with her m...
Loading
Title:The Memory ThiefFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8.4 × 5.5 × 0.75 inShipping dimensions:8.4 × 5.5 × 0.75 inPublished:October 1, 2019Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310767652

ISBN - 13:9780310767657

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Adventure! *I received this book on Net Galley but I wouldn't have cross-posted my review if I didn't love it* TW: people in an asylum, violence, flashbacks This book was basically everything I look for in a fantasy novel: well thought-out characters, lack of toxic masculinity, a plot that is a metaphor for bigger things, sassy dialogue, and not a lot of main characters dying. One of my favourite quotations is when the protagonist Etta says "Don't make a scene.," and her companion Ryder responds that "Not making a scene is what lead to this" (pg 22). This is such an important issue right now and I think Mansy addressed it wonderfully. This book was so well-written that the only break I took in reading was to get myself a snack. The visuals are stunning and the power dynamics are so interesting. There is this thread running through the book that you are not your past but you can become a better person from it. However, this is also tied to the idea that you don't have to forgive people that have wronged you-- that it is your choice. Many characters are not what they seem and no one is wholly any one thing which I really appreciate. For most of the story Etta is plagued with regret but she learns that it is not her fault for reacting to a situation that she did not choose to be in. She frequently has flashbacks and many of them are from four years ago-- when she was fourteen. She blames herself for her actions but the people around her help her realise that she was just a child and was doing what she could within limited options. I am quite passionate about this being a narrative that needs to be seen more often especially relating to childhood trauma. As you can tell, I was deeply engrossed in this book and would have given it five stars except for one thing: the lack if diversity. This is something that I would not have noticed except that I have actively been looking for diversity when I read to better understand how to be an ally. I read this book very carefully and took notes, but there are no skin colours listed for anyone. While this may seem like it is so people can be interpreted any skin colour, stuff like this ends up being heavily white-washed since our society has been trained to believe that unless otherwise stated (and quite often even when it is stated) that everyone is white. Additionally, I did not notice any characters that were not heterosexual. The book was very nuanced, but it could have benefited from some diversity. The author could improve her book by including more diverse characters (and being very careful when using terms like Tribes), but overall this is a smashing debut novel and I look forward to seeing what she writes in future!
Date published: 2019-07-04

Editorial Reviews

A thought-provoking and unique YA fantasy, THE MEMORY THIEF is a engrossing and lovely story. Twists and turns keep the reader guessing as they follow Etta on her physical and mental journey.