The Menzies Era

The Menzies Era

Kobo ebook | September 22, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


An assessment of Australia's longest-serving Prime Minister by Australia's second-longest serving Prime Minister - a significant, unique and fascinating history of The Menzies Era. Fresh from the success of his phenomenal bestselling memoir, Lazarus Rising, which has sold over 100,000 copies, John Howard now turns his attention to one of the most extraordinary periods in Australian history, The Menzies Era, canvassing the longest unbroken period of government for one side of politics in Australia's history. As we all know, John Howard was Australia's second-longest serving Prime Minister in Australia's history. The first, of course, was the monumental Sir Robert Menzies, who was Prime Minister for a total of 18 years, five months and 12 days, by far the longest-serving Australian Prime Minister. His second term of 16 years is far and away the longest unbroken tenure in that office, and during his second term he dominated Australian politics like no one else has ever done before or since. Through this era, there was huge economic growth, social change and considerable political turmoil. Covering the impact of the great Labor split of 1955 as well as the recovery of the Labor Party under Whitlam's leadership in the late 1960s and the impact of the Vietnam War on Australian politics, this magisterial book will offer a comprehensive assessment of the importance of the Menzies era in Australian life, history and politics. John Howard, only ten when Menzies rose to power, and in young adulthood when the Menzies era came to an end, saw Menzies as a inspiration and as a role model. His unique insights and thoughtful analysis into Menzies the man, the politician, and his legacy make this a fascinating, highly significant book.
Title:The Menzies EraFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:September 22, 2014Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: