The Merchant's House: A gripping, detective thriller with a heart-stopping twist by Kate Ellis

The Merchant's House: A gripping, detective thriller with a heart-stopping twist

byKate Ellis

Kobo ebook | January 20, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$2.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Even the darkest secret can't stay buried forever...

When a child goes missing and the body of a young woman is discovered on a deserted cliff path, DS Wesley Peterson is brought in to lead the investigation.

But when his old friend, archaeologist Neil Watson, unearths the skeletons of a strangled woman and a new born baby in the cellar of an ancient house, DS Wesley quickly realises that there's a dark side to the seemingly picturesque town of Tradmouth.

Could there be a link between the two murders?

As DS Wesley and his team begin to connect the current case with an unsolved murder centuries ago, it's not long before a complex web of jealously, obsession and revenge begins to surface.

Is history repeating itself?

With time running out, the pressure is on for the young detective to solve the case before another body turns up...

Darkly compelling and utterly addictive, this edge-of-your-seat mystery is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Read what people are saying about Kate Ellis

'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' - The Times

'Star author. Unputdownable'- Bookseller

'I couldn't stop turning the pages... Something about this book just hooked me!' - Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A really good read... could not put it down. I bought the second book as soon as I finished this one!'- Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars

'Very well put together and still managed to surprise me at the end - highly recommended.' - In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

'You'll fall in love with coastal England and find yourself walking the cobbled lanes in your imagination...Do not miss this series!' - Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars

Title:The Merchant's House: A gripping, detective thriller with a heart-stopping twistFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:January 20, 2011Publisher:Little, Brown Book GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0748126740

ISBN - 13:9780748126743

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wesley Peterson #1 Do I need another series to read? Absolutely not. But that doesn’t mean I couldn’t resist adding another one anyway. This first book in Kate Ellis’ crime series featuring Detective Sergeant Wesley Peterson is good, better than many first books often are in a series. I like the strong, crisp writing. The plot moves along very quickly so I was never bored or wondering where the story line was heading. Ellis blends a historical mystery in with a modern one, making the plot even more interesting, something that is essential for a first novel to keep readers coming back for more. The main characters in the book are interesting enough for me to want to continue reading about them in the next book.
Date published: 2013-06-01