The Metamorphoses: Books VIII-XI by Ovid

The Metamorphoses: Books VIII-XI


Kobo ebook | February 18, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Metamorphoses of Ovid are a compendium of the Mythological narratives of ancient Greece and Rome, which embrace a large amount of information upon almost every subject connected with the learning, traditions, manners, and customs of antiquity. In this translation, the text of the Delphin edition has been used.

For better understanding of the different narratives and allusions, explanations have been added, which are principally derived from the writings of Herodotus, Apollodorus, Pausanias, Dio Cassius, Dionysius of Halicarnassus, Strabo, Hyginus, Nonnus, and others of the historians, philosophers, and mythologists of antiquity.

P. Ovidius Naso—commonly known as Ovid—was born at Sulmo (about ninety miles from Rome) in the year 43 B.C.

This edition contains Books VIII-XI.

Title:The Metamorphoses: Books VIII-XIFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 18, 2013Publisher:Herne Ridge Ltd.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: